A good Friday around the society.

in #travel6 years ago

Today we went into town to check out the easter parade.

I was waiting for the thing to start, I had gotten up extra early so as not to miss it.

Well, in typical mexican fashion it didn't get going on time.

The mexicans are fashionably late, a result of enjoying life and not punching a clock like we do north of the border.

So, I followed the folks down to where the parade was staging across the bridge.

I was distracted by this river, I don't know what was in it, but you had to dig down a ways to get to the water,...

Lots of catholics here, as you can see.

Those were singing and following these folks.

So, we took off walking down the main street in town.

You can see it was standing room only.

Then we got into the real deal.

That fella with the fauxhawk kept hitting the cross with that cat o' nine tails and yelling things.

Lots of kids doing their pennance.

Doing as they were told, like good kids.

As always there has to be some crapitalusts to give reason to the season.

Lots of freedom in Mexico.

I'd just like to see a dog try that in the united snakes, why they'd call out the nat'l guard.

If you want to step back into the 1950's, you can't beat Mexico.

Most of the business are family owned, walmart is starting to make a dent, but there are still mom and pops.

I got distracted at this point, making my escape down a side street and catching them as they caught up.

I lost my religion a long time ago and lost interest in this parade at this point, it was getting hot in the sun.

They tell me that it went on for 4 more hours and near the end of the walking they hung 'Jesus' on the cross.

I wish I had hung out for that, but I made it back the 6k's to the house long before it happened.

Until next time,...

Have a perfectly peaceful day.

Vote FBA King of the World!

Keep working, stop paying.

No war, but the class war!!

Minds.com

How to win in court!

How to win in court for far less!!

Sort:  

The Roman soldiers costume is pretty awesome

Yeah, i shoulda hung out the four hours to get shots of them putting him on the cross, maybe next year.

Religion eh! I suppose it gives folk a reason to meet up, not my kinda thing though. You need to get a nice little camera broskie, to sharpen up those images a little.

We have same tradition here in our country Philippines. Catholics celebrated yearly the Lenten season. A lot of Catholics do their penance same as what you posted. Good Friday commemorates Jesus passion, crucifixion and death. A nice tradition.

I guess, its not really for me.

Nice shots freeborn...showing the locals and habitats.

Small towns are pretty much the same everywhere.

But, "the times, they are a changing" me thinketh...

Then we got into the real deal.

Thought they started using real spikes for a sec. 😎

Lol, i think they do in the philipines, but not here.
They did take all day with their play, though.
They dont have sunrise services here, which i found odd having been forced to go to nearly a dozen as a child.
Mexicans are mostly not early risers.
Some businesses in the city dont open until ten!

i think they do in the philipines, but not here.

Eep! Was just joking and had no idea some folks would use the real thing!

Yep, pretty sure it was there, they whip themselves bloody, too.

wow!! that was a great work you've shown out there. nice one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25