Xcape # 10 |Flashback| - Exploring Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park 🙊 | Monkeys in Onsen 🐒| Winter Wonderland

in #travel6 years ago

Hope everyone is enjoying the holidays and spending some quality time with family & friends. I'm definitely enjoying the season and looking forward to an action packed 2018. Just in case you missed my last post here is a flash back to my time in Nagano, Japan. I'll have new content from next week. Thanks friends and enjoy the christmas break.

Hey Steemit,

Carl here from FML with another episode of Xcape. In this episode of we’ll continue our adventure through Nagano City as I show you one of my favourite destinations to visit in Nagano, the Jigokudani Monkey Park. Check out my short video below for scenes from Hakuba and Nagano.

Located about an hour out of Nagano City by bus, Jigokudani Monkey Park is located in the middle of a forest that is only accessible via a 30-minute trek.

How to get here

You can get to the snow monkey park by catching a bus from the Nagano train station. Tickets will set you back 3200 Yen ($32 AUD) for a return adult day pass which includes the cost of entry to the park & a return bus trip. Entry into the monkey park alone will set you back 1000 Yen ($10 AUD) so the day pass is fairly priced. You can buy these passes from the train station by asking the information desk when you arrive. If you have any luggage you can store these in lockers at the station. Check out a few of my photos from around Nagano Station below.

The bus ride is fairly scenic, and you’ll pass a lot of remote Japanese neighbourhoods and countryside which is blanketed in snow. Just take a look below.

I believe that you can also catch a train to the snow monkey park if you wish, however we prefered to catch the bus.

Snow Monkey Park

After you arrive at the snow monkey park bus stop, you’ll have to undertake a 30-minute walk into the forest to see the monkeys. During winter the walk is stunning as all the trees are covered in a thick layer of snow, which looks amazing against the background scenery and river. Try not to get to distracted though as the path can be icy and quite slippery in some places so please wear some grippy shoes and mind your step.

I’ve also provided a copy of the map we were given which shows the location of the bus stop in relation to the snow monkey park and other attractions.

Also take a look at some of my photos from along the walk to the hot springs.

Before I knew if my walk-through Narnia was over, and I was standing in a clearing with several hot pools. Check out some of these photos of the monkeys in the onsen below. The park has one man-made pool whcih was originally intended for humans to use before it was overtaken by the snow monkeys. It was actually really interesting to watch the monkeys interaction with one another which is very similar to humans. Try to resist touching the monkeys though as these are wild animals. You can admire the photos below.

The monkeys aren’t the only thing to see in the park however as there is a hot spring geezer which spews up hot steam from the earth located next to the hot springs. Check out my photos below from around the park.

Enza Café and Ramen

On the way back from the park we decided to stop by Enza Café and Ramen before our journey back to the Nagano train station.

I highly recommend the ramen at this restaurant which is reasonably priced and delicious. I decided to try a spicy pork ramen (pictured below) which definitely had a kick. The Chashu pork was tender and the broth deliciously porky. Simply perfect after 2 hours in the cold is how I’d describe the meal. Check out my meal below.

It was nearly night fall and we were waiting for one of the last buses of the day to take us back to Nagano Station. It was at this time when we were almost frozen solid that we saw a fantastic photo opportunity of a bus shelter illuminated in the night. It was such a simple photo, but I couldn’t believe how amazing it looked at night. I’ll let you be the judge, but I thought it was a perfect way to end a rather eventful day.

I hope you enjoyed reading about this travel blog. If you want to hear more about my adventures, please upvote this post and resteem with friends. Additionally, please follow me to hear more about my latest adventures. ✌️


About the Author

If you'd like to learn more about me or my blog series check out my introduction post


FML news!!!

💬 A special thank you to my new and existing followers. Thanks for supporting my blog series. I'd definitely love to get to know more of you so feel free to get in contact if you enjoy my post.


💬I've recently passed the 100 followers milestone on steemit. As a thanks I'll be giving two (2) followers (one male and one female) $30 worth of steem dollars (each). If you'd like to be chosen simply follow my blog and actively comment on any one of my next 5 blogs. Please also resteem one of my blogs. At the end of Xcape #10 I'll draw the winners out and announce in Xcape #11.

Sort:  

Apologies @saimegh. I wanted to get my post out to more people since this was probably one of my favourite places I visited whilst travelling and my previous post was only seen by a handful of people. I did say it was a flashback but I note your concern. Thanks for the feedback.

In this New Year, I wish you achieve all your goals in life,
And get success at every step of life, enjoy a wonderful 2018.

Thanks @sandypham. Hope you had a fantastic Christmas and a great new year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78