Grab Hold of Memories While You Can

in #travel6 years ago

59909b79-5721-4bf4-922e-97f7a22f2aaa.jpeg


I'm going to miss this view. I've spent nearly 7 years (non-sequential) of my professional career with one variation or another of this view.

While this is the current state of the view, I remember not so long ago when this was a deep crater in the ground. Those days were much more somber .. you definitely didn't experience the somewhat joyful feeling that one might feel (albeit briefly) from viewing all of the beautiful green trees.

At one point, I began putting together somewhat of a time-series of photos of this area. Eventually the amount of time between my photos became so inconsistent that the series didn't come together as well as I planned.

I am sure that I will return to this area again, as I haven't yet been able to escape it for long! But I hope that I can spend more time away from here, and enjoy my time at home and with my family.

Soon I'll be off on my next adventure. It's been a fun ride so far, and I look forward to whatever comes next!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-11T21:26:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 226.65/200.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.34 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That view of ground zero that created a new department in American government sure brings back memories. For all its tragedy it feels like all the spending that occurred since missed the mark of securing the nation. I don't usually dwell on past events or the stability of America. It just feels like life from the 60's thru the 90's there was greater security. 2002 on even with all the wonderful gains in technology and healthcare feels like a lose of stability. I think its mostly American politics that have me thinking this way.

The response that I feel is most appropriate for your comment is "Ignorance is bliss". Until we knew how vulnerable we really were, and saw it firsthand, the natural sense of security disappeared.

Also, since 9/11, the government has done a bang-up job of revoking so many of our previously held freedoms. When you're used to being free, then all of the sudden are handcuffed from performing those things that you previously loved (or you fear exercising your actual rights because you think you'll get harmed in some way), then your level of safety is also reconsidered.

It's definitely a combination of many factors, but I know what you mean ... there is definitely a heightened sense of risk in the US these days .. even though there may or may not actually be a real risk that's worth being concerned about. The size, volume, coordination, and span of impact from 9/11 created a significant amount of distrust between US citizens and the government as well (plus conspiracy theorists).

So before I get too political ... "Ignorance is Bliss" :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99