Travel to the North. Kargopol temples

in #travel7 years ago

The journey continues!

Separately it is worth mentioning about the Kargopol temples. They are not the same as I can see in my native Great Ustyug, they are much wider, squat and bigger. The domes are so big and lush, as if inflated by something. Not strong in the classification of temples, but something close to the Vladimir-Suzdal architecture. In Veliky Ustyug I know that almost all the churches are the Totem Baroque.

Also interesting construction of the bell tower. Its interior is empty, it seems to stand on four "legs", and one of the "legs" can climb to the top of the bell tower.

Here, in the center of the city is a whole temple complex.

It is necessary to pass a quarter of a block further, as there is another complex of temples.

One form of domes is worth it! They really liked me!

And here is another interesting, first seen by me, form of the dome.

In general, in Kargopol there is neither a building, it is an architectural monument!

We also strolled along the banks of the Onega River.

We looked at the exhibition of carvings.

We looked at the suspension of the car, after the most terrible roads.

And drove on. After all, the main goal for today is Kenozero!

Sort:  

good post. follow me @goga

upvoted&followed :)

"my native Great Ustyug" Wait, what? I don't know anything about Russia. I need maps.

Totem Baroque? Listen - I went to school in north america. I have no idea what any of that is. Eastern architectural style? We studied none of this.

This seems so far away. I'm so looking forward to your next post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86