Weirdest Thing I Have Tasted in Mexico

in #travel5 years ago

B810F697-83A9-4D5D-8E0E-31A2EC74BD03.jpeg

There are all sorts of weird and unfamiliar drinks and foods in different parts of the world, that shock and intrigue us when it’s something we are not used to having back at home. I’m a half a world away from my home in Finland, and one of the most fantastic aspects of travelling is tasting different foods. A proper food post is coming on a later date, but I wanted to share with you the weirdest and probably the most disgusting drink I have tasted.

This is Michelada with Clamato



It’s basically a salty, spicy, savoury, tomato and clam juice mixed with beer. It’s the Mexican equalent for Bloody Mary. Clamato is a brand name for a juice that is tomato and clam, which in on itself already sounds disgusting.

Depending on where you are, there are different versions of the drink, some with vodka, different spices and lime juice. Apparently Mexicans are crazy about this drink, but I find it quite nasty, but I don’t like Bloody Mary either.

Have you ever tasted this drink and what did you think of it?

Sort:  

Oke, we tasted Michelada first time when we were in Guatemala! That literally is the worst drink ive ever had hahaha! I mean and i dont mind Bloody Mary’s .. but this thing haha! I was just smiling to the bartender and trying to get it down just not to be rude haha!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m so glad I didn’t order one for myself, I just tasted it from a friend! 😂

it looked like bloody mary, i am not a great fan of it, but i do drink it maybe once a year. it is a hungover drink, when you have a hungover but you still want some alcohol :D

If I have a hangover, the last thing I would want to drink is this, would just make me vomit.

if it has a beer/tomato taste i would understand :D

Don’t forget clam juice! 🤢

my english made me miss clam juice. ouch :)

Your mind was trying to protect you from it!

Often. There are even Budweiser and Bud Light canned versions of michelada at stores here in South Texas. Not as good as one made for you. Still, it keeps with the food palette. Great on a hot day. I wouldn't drink more than one or two.

That is so weird 😅 It really was not for my tastebuds, I prefer my tomato soup and beer separate 😝

You want to try the weirdest of them all? Try Pulque if you can find it. Hmmm.... they might not have it in that area. I'm not sure.

Agave juice, that doesn’t sound too bad!

Haha! I keep forgetting that i'm old and that people drink all kinds of gross slimy vegetable juice drinks now and that it's hardly even shocking anymore

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00