Drooling Over Antiques

in #travel5 years ago

ant1.jpg

Today I spend the day exploring Puebla, mostly by foot, and stumbled upon a little antique market. It's rare to have anything like this on a weekday, but there were a few tables up because it's the holiday season. There were hardly anyone else around so I could walk around and look at thing at my own pace. Antique markets are filled with amazing treasures, often at very reasonable prices. I'd much rather buy my furniture here than from Ikea, which is basically the plan because I am missing quite a few pieces from the new apartment, but all in good time.

I'm like a magpie with antiques, I love old shiny pictures frames, mirrors, candelabras and jewellery. I wish I could drag them all home with me! I was also considering switching my modern suitcase into the vintage one in the first picture but sanity took over at the last minute.

I only bought two tiny little things, which I didn't picture. The first thing is a cool metal bracelet from a guy that was making them on the spot, I love handcrafts and people who are skill in them so I wanted to get something from him, and I'll probably gift it to mom. The other thing is an antique silver pendant with catholic imagery, and why I am not religious, I think it was a great find for myself to have as a memory from Mexico. I'm pretty sure it's real silver because it has a nice weight and patina to it. Market places are filled with cheap trinkets in here, and while they look nice from afar, it's quite easy to see that they are cheap metal mixes and not worth my money. I'm in the hunt for silver rings, preferably antique, and I hope I can find some in Mexico City.

There is a plan in motion to go more antique shopping in Mexico City during the weekend. I need to look only for little things like jewellery because I can't afford to send a shipping container filled with antique furniture to Finland...

ant2.jpg

ant3.jpg

ant4.jpg

ant5.jpg

ant6.jpg

ant7.jpg

Sort:  

I was assuming I could find photos of older men from here..

Didn’t find any to my liking 🤷🏻‍♀️

Nice things! The fruit plates reminds me of my mom. She loved collecting plates. I remember once, she bought these "fish" plates when we went to Myrtle Beach once. They had auctions there and, of course Mom found one and she bought them and put them up in our kitchen! I thought they were hideous. But for some reason she liked the colors which matched our 1970s avacado-colored kitchen.

I also noticed the lamp with the 1950's style lampshade on it, which always reminds me of I Love Lucy for some reason.....

I was brought up with antiques as far back as I can remember. My mother used to take me to auctions whilst my father would go play golf--mainly on holidays this place ("Thieves Market") would have these auctions. Mom would scope out the place a day before. She found all sorts of things.

However, now, the bottom has dropped out and antiques don't get what they once did. You can get some bargains!

Did you buy me one? I will be expecting the delivery this week to Vegas 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

You mean the silver piece right? :P

Much better, send silver lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh I know you are very into these kinds of treasures!

Definitely! Seeing this post does remind me that I need to make more stops to my favorite shop. I need a new wood table and I wish I could snatch that ornate oval mirror in your fourth image.

I have no tables, apart from a coffee table, in my apartment right now, so I'm in the hunt for a wood table also!

That’s like the hardest piece of furniture to find. I feel like every wood table I come across doesn’t fit with our homes theme. It’s either too rustic or not sturdy enough. It sucks.

And sizes are really hard too! I need a small-ish one, and most tables are for at least six people.

That looks like a nice place. Here, an "antique shop" most often means a bunch of crumbling junk, and an "antique market" means a bunch of really over priced stuff that is just made to look old. It's a tricky business.

Old books always get me. You can always fit one more in the bookcase...even when you can't. Good luck on your hunt for rings.

I totally get it, the quality and price depends so much on the country and market you are in. And one has to be quite mindful of what is good and what is not and what is a reasonably price for said item.

Oh that antique book store smell, dear lord I want that as a scented candle!!

Book store scented candle - that's brilliant :)

Well there is this one which is heavenly, if you see it anywhere, go smell it!
https://byredo.eu/catalog/product/view/id/25/s/bibliotheque-candle-240-g/

Wow, nice. And incredibly expensive. It might be cheaper to buy a few old books and set up a fan behind them :D

I want that chair. And all the rest too! 😍

Aren't they so gorgeous? And I believe very affordable compared to what they would be back at home in antique shops.

You should load up a container and sell the things at home! ...well, only what you don't want to keep, of course ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79