Don't Believe Everything You Read

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been traveling pretty frequently the last few years and my first choice for accommodations is always an Airbnb. Most of the time Airbnb’s offer a much more authentic experience than a hotel can come close to. There are usually very reasonably priced properties available for rent in the best parts of town, many have full kitchens so you can actually buy groceries and cook. Airbnb makes it easy to settle into a new city and really get to know it, pretend like you’re a local.

The honeymoon phase of my love affair with Airbnb came to an abrupt halt this past September when a friend (@luckyfellow) and I booked a trip to Montreal. We picked an Airbnb property right in the heart of the Old Port region, just blocks away from the Notre Dame Basilica. The location couldn't be beat and the pictures of the unit were amazing, exposed brick walls, pool table, lots of open space and huge windows all for much less than a regular hotel room. The host’s ratings on the Airbnb site were phenomenal, so we booked it in May and then proceeded on with summer.

As We Prepared to Travel North, Things Went South.

A few days before our flight reached out to the host to inquire about early check-in since our flight was arriving at noon and the Airbnb ad said check-in was at 4pm. Two days passed, no response from the host. I called the number on the listing and got some generic property management office, left a voicemail and got a similar outcome...crickets.

We landed in Montreal and I still hadn’t heard a word from the host or management company. The Lyft dropped us at the property and it was a secure building. We had no code, no key, no communication from the host, and no details about the unit number. I called the number on the Airbnb listing once more and left a blisteringly irate message and we schlepped our luggage a few blocks down the street to a Starbucks. Caffeinated beverages always help me patch together a Plan B.

Fake Reviews?

This is when I remembered reading something a few weeks beforehand about the proliferation of fake online reviews nearly everywhere. In the article it mentioned a guy from England who gamed TripAdvisor’s review system to make the garden shed in his backyard the most highly-rated restaurant in London (yes, you read that right.) He served surprised patrons frozen dinners when they showed up on opening night.

This got my curiosity cranking. While I was sitting there in Starbucks, with my bags, waiting for Mr. Hospitality or one of his minions to return my call I dug into the hosts reviews. Buried under very short reviews gushing five star ratings and high praise were reviews that painted a very different picture. People said they were subjected to bait and switch tactics, encountered broken furniture, dirty carpets, the host demanded extra payment outside of the Airbnb ecosystem...I began to see a real nightmarish pattern. It appeared that several reviews of this property were highly suspect and every fifth reviews or so appeared to be real (and not flattering).

Finally, A Call

While enjoying my fourth coffee of the day my phone rang and it was a Montreal-based number so I picked up immediately. It was the host, he said there was a plumbing problem at the unit and it would be unavailable. This is when I really began to sweat bullets. He then added we were in luck because he had another unit across the street he could offer us for the same price.


On the surface, the second option wasn't bad.

We checked out the new unit and it seemed fine so I messaged the host to let him know we’d take it. I didn’t do a thorough enough check. Upon further inspection the shower handle was broken, so the shower wasn’t operational. Luckily it had a separate working bathtub. At the time it was no big deal, I was just happy to have a roof over my head and a bed to sleep in. The next day, the maintenance man dropped of a pair of Vise Grips that I clamped onto what was left of the shower fixture so we could use it.

The Fine Print Gets You Every Time

I got a message from the host while we were leaving Montreal on our way to the airport. He demanded an extra 15% of the price of our stay for “city taxes”. He said he was going to hand me over to the Resolution Center to settle the bill since I hadn't paid this extra fee on check-in. A few other reviews had mentioned this same thing. Apparently he had this information buried somewhere in his listing but I missed it. I had assumed Airbnb made the hosts bundle all fees into the price of the listing. I was wrong, they actually do allow hosts to collect extra fees upon check-in. I protested, since we had so many issues (moldy water in the clothes washer and many more I hadn't talked about above) and he waived the fee.

Post-Honeymoon Phase

From this experience forward Airbnb and I will have a much different kind of relationship. I’ll still use them but I’ll be much more diligent about checking into hosts and reading each and every detail about the listing before booking. We still had an incredible time in Montreal but lots of lessons were learned through this experience. I

After contacting Airbnb Customer support they assured me that they'd have "a discussion" with the host about his lack of communication an offered me a $25 credit for my troubles. This entire experience seemed very nefarious and I can't help but wonder if large corporations have infiltrated once beloved, Airbnb and are gaming their review system. This host seemed to have a huge network of properties and was clearly playing "bait and switch". Long story short, traveler beware! One thing is for sure, from this point forward I'll live by the old Russian proverb...Trust But Verify.

Thanks for reading,

Eric

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Hummm, actually you are right. But it is not all the time, some reveiw are true and good but some are also false like you have said. It has happenned to me before about false review when i got there, i met different thing entirerly compared to what i have heard before living home but i believe some are truth at times and some are false

whoah... good article. I had similar thoughts while using booking..com
Almost every apartment had a high notes about 8 stars. So, when I picked-up one in Gdansk, Poland. I went there and I noticed there is no kitchen (I checked on app and it should be). I made a call to owner with the question about heating because it was so cold in October. He told me to change some settings on heater and heat controller. I did it finally on my own and worked. Later, when we were taking shower, water was changing suddenly from hot to freezy cold. Apartment was almost good besides these two things. Finally it did not spoil our weekend trip. You can read about our trip here https://steemit.com/travel/@wiseman91/how-wonderful-was-in-gdansk-poland-and-why-we-were-in-a-little-trouble

An amazing story, my friend and I imagine your mood when you are faced with such inconvenience, as you noticed, let it be so far, than nothing at all. You are right, the next time, of course, everything is better to check and several times to exclude any surprises! Thank you Eric

Thanks for reading and for your comment!

Agreed with your article We think that every written thing will be right, and we believe in him without thinking. People take advantage of our faith.

Most companies pay people for fake review. Customers should work vigilantly. Good article .

Have you tried airbnb's older brother vrbo dot com? I find that it usually provides better prices and a higher class of accommodation.

My wife and I have used VRBO a few times but not since Airbnb launched. We were always satisfied with VRBO.

My wife and I still prefer VRBO.

I find that the houses/apartments have been a better quality for the price with VRBO, but that might simply be luck.

Especially in Hawai'i, VRBO is the way to go.

Great to know! I think we leaned more heavily towards Airbnb for a while due to their superior technology but, as we learned, that tech (as convenient as it is) can be hacked in a negative way. P.S. We would REALLY like to see Hawaii. Thanks!

I have never used AirBNB but when we book our hotels we do use TripAdvisor and read all the Reviews especially the negative ones. We also look through all the Visitor photos and So far every single place that we have chosen has been awesome. From hotels in Toronto and New York to a cottage on Cape Cod.

This is a smart practice! I'll be much more diligent in my research after this experience.

@ericvancewalton this is good info. I am glad to read about your experience. I have only heard good things up until now.
resteemed for others that get to travel to fun places... Montreal sounds great, other than the accomodations..

Thanks @rebeccabe! I think online reviews in general are falsified to a large extent. You can clearly see the ones that are suspect on Airbnb. They're usually very short, and/or written using poor English. Montreal is AWESOME. I would recommend it to anyone who likes good food and culture. I was considering Canada as a possible place to retire to but it looks like they don't make it easy for those people approaching 50 years old.

It seems that many of us will be here. Hey, travel is the best. Live here and there.
I think Canada is very strict. I think the fact the US is getting stricter is criticized when others are the same way. :) I am not political lol. Just thought I would throw that in there since Canada is like that. Haha! I think in Australia you have to have great health and return ever so often to the US for check-ups. I read that years ago. @ericvancewalton

Article's heading is very suitable . It is saying many things in one line. Like your post .
Your gif selection is always very good and funny

False advertising lol. Thanks for the heads up. They probably review themselves. Lol.
Joy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83