Jetlag is a b*tch

in #travel8 years ago

AUG 06, 2016 MATHIEU DUBOIS Blog

Hello again,
This is gonna be a short one. I just realized what people are actually talking about when they say jetlag. I thought jetlag was all about being dead tired the day after the trip. It made sense, a 36 hour day is not common. But actually, this is the real problem.
I just woke up (23h30 China time) thinking it must be morning when I went to sleep at 21h45. Jetlag is a sneakier opponent than expected. It was my first day and I didn’t felt like it was affecting me that much. I was like that Jetlag thing got nothing on me ! Lol. Obviously I don’t think that anymore because well, I’m writing this blog entry instead of recovering for another day of new stuff. My brain needs rest if I want to learn and there is so much to learn just to be able to function in society. Every social interaction is a challenge. You want to buy food for example, you gotta know your numbers in Chinese. If you want to take a cab, you got to know how to say your adress in Chinese . You might be saying well numbers and basic directions isn’t that big of a deal. But when you talk to someone, they always do that weird thing called responding and that’s when things starts to get complicated. I’m glad I’m staying with two french/English speakers that both have what I consider advanced survival skills in Chinese. In a week or so I’m on my own for the basic stuff so I better get on those skills if I want to enjoy my time in China.
Ok I’m done for tonight, I should stop writing about the importance of sleep in the learning process and instead try to get some sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47