Wonders of Australia- Pink Bumbunga Lake

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Inspired by a post of my fellow steemian @myday I decided to share my recent visit to Lake Bumbunga near small town Lochiel in South Australia.

20170118_171728.jpg

IMG_0022.PNG

Lake is situated some 125 km north of Adelaide. I remember first time I saw it, it was in 2014 on our way to Ayers Rock. I was born in Europe, read about pink lakes but couldn't imagine that I will have opportunity to see one. First time I laid my eyes on it I fell in love.
"Look, pink, mum water is pink" those were the words of my two little ones.

I can't describe my amazement, told you I am born European. Later on I researched a little bit about pink lakes and found out that colour is bioproduct (carotenoids) of green alga Dunaliella salina, halobacterium Halobacteria cutirubrum.
Lake itself is extremely salty and during arid summer months shores are covered with thick salt crystals which are pink as well.

20170118_173457.jpg

IMG_0021.JPG

After some time I wanted to see it again, it's not that far away from Adelaide. Only regret that I had is that I didn't bring better camera, so I used my phone and snaped few photos.

20170118_181032.jpg

On shoreline we found one item which didn't belong there and I hope that someone removed that old rusty chair.

20170118_173329.jpg

When you get down from highway and come close to pink transparent water you lose the feeling that you are on the planet Earth, everything around you seem like it came from another planet.

IMG_0024.JPG

IMG_0013.JPG

IMG_0012.JPG

Even the plants had somehow alienish look.

IMG_1784.jpg

Next summer I visit little magical pink lake again, but this time I will not forget to bring my camera with me 😊.

Hope you liked this travel blog, if yes please upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

It really looks like a different planet :D

It sure does, but Australia is Voll of wonders like this.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dijana969 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This is amazing. I never knew places like this
good post
thanks

Thank you dear!

Australia here we come 😀 thanks for the inspiration
Follow us @healthlovetravel 😗

You are more then welcome! Prepare yourself for some unusual sites 😊.

Isn't it? Thank you dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22