One Breath - Sweet Lullabies from the Deep

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

11053314_10153283339773711_5249493660340966244_o.jpg

I took one last deep breath, slowly descending into the blue in hopes of escaping the chaos at the surface... my attempt to awaken an emotional response to the underwater world. This is the place I have been dreaming about, where the sun makes everything below glitter, where the lucky creatures thrive away from us all, where everything is free to be taken to any direction, where there’s nothing but silence.

This is the closest I can get to flying. I was weightless and free....

My whole body was engulfed by this great liquid force, my skin was cold. The water got colder and colder as I descended, and I became more alive....

I couldn’t understand anymore, those big islands above that separate us, creating all these false divides. Here underneath is just one massive seafloor connecting us all. Where you don’t need to speak. You and I are only connected at the level of our own subconsciousness.

It’s a different world out here but sadly not everyone seems to notice. Once you start noticing the power and beauty of the sea, the problems in the materialistic world will not make any sense to you anymore. What is not to be happy about? Freedom is here, feel free to swim to your heart’s content.

I slowly descended feeling nothing but the beating of my own heart. I braved the mysterious and unexplorable to see what lies beneath. Then my lungs began to shrink, the pressure began to hit me, and my head felt like being squashed by the massive underwater force. It was harder to move my hands, there was a need to breathe but it was too early for this. I tried not to move too much so as not to consume more oxygen. I was going against human nature, perhaps beyond my limits. I tried to remember what to do....

I was for a moment distracted, worries started to set in. What should I think?

I remembered a good friend answered me “good thoughts, good thoughts only”. However, I couldn't force myself to think of anything, but as soon as I saw the vivid colors everywhere, the glistening landscape down below and the richness of marine life, I went back to reality. There was no fear anymore, only the enjoyment of existence. There’s life down here, everything is alive and away from the rest of the world. This is how the lucky ones must feel...I can see the beauty around me and I wish I can speak to it to express my appreciation. But no words need to be uttered, everything is meant to be enjoyed for a moment....

C360_2017-07-27-19-44-45-208.jpg

I realized that I am just a tiny drop in the ocean world, I do not matter at all and neither do you. It is easy to just die out here and be forever forgotten. What I can only do is to take pleasure in the details, to be consumed by nature's beauty and love my own existence.

I took pleasure in this endless blue, everything was surreal. I could probably just forget to breathe...and just get lost. Oxygen is overrated anyway. I wish the creatures will give me the power to breathe here. You can go anywhere you want, no need to speak, no words will divide us anymore....

We’ll swim and enjoy the silence as we connect through our hearts and minds.

I was amazed. I should have discovered this enchanted abyss long time ago. But I was controlled by fear. Until my curiosity made me seek the answers to the mystery of the past. Sometimes I see a distorted face underwater and a hand that reaches out, it must be a sign..but I accepted that some things will remain unanswered....

There was no point to be distracted by fear, life begins here. All these heightened feelings brought me to the present. There’s nothing to think about, just enjoy all life’s little details.

It’s one of those experiences that gives a strange and difficult-to-describe feeling. You have to experience this yourself to understand.

My need to breathe came back once again. I run the risk of blacking out, swimming forever into nothingness. Perhaps there I could solve the mystery that enslaves me. I looked up, there are things that await me. I swam back up following the white light, slowly releasing myself from the pressure.

A brief moment under seemed like forever.

I felt the ray of light on my face again, the reality of the outside world came back to my senses.

For a moment I was free.

Sort:  

Was it your first dive? I did with our Fire Brigade crew both courses (what we call "free dive" - with snorkel - and "autonomous dive" - with air bottle) and got my diving license. And - as men are jerks - bought something I did use only once: a spear gun. Looking at the fish dying at the end of the spear made me realize how stupid and cruel this kind of "sport" was. Now I just dive... and marvel at the sights of the sea.
Marvelous post as always

No.

That's cool. Thanks! :)

I think I need to dive....

Seems like you have an active meditation in diving.

It is really like meditation, you should try while you are n Thailand.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 2.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @diabolika.

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 32.89 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @freetissues.

Just a pleasure 😜

I've always said that underwater is the only place I feel even remotely graceful. Being so out of your element but so into another world is a rush. Also, it's not much, but I gave you a shoutout in my latest post.

I agree. I saw some of your photos with the dolphins. Pretty amazing!

Ok, I'll check, for some reason, I don't get any notifications.

That is exactly how I feel when I snorkel. It's so quiet and peaceful in the ocean. What a magical place to be.

True that! :) Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65520.16
ETH 2652.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87