Once There Was a Minnow in Las Grietas, Galapagos - Alone in Paradise

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-07-20-16-18-26-239.jpg

We should meet in another life, we should meet in air, me and you...
― Sylvia Plath

Days were just passing by and I already felt bored. I guess one place no matter how special, loses its charm in time, but what can I whine about? I am in the most amazing place in the world, isolated from everything else. Isn't this my dream. Here I can silently commune with nature, in the company of unique friends, these interesting creatures you won’t see anywhere else.

I had to take my weekend off from volunteering so I tried to find other places to explore while I was here, that wouldn’t really hurt my pocket that much, as Galapagos can be expensive for budget travelers.

I love all those weekend escapes, those little holidays within a big holiday in South America. I can only thank the opportunity given to me to be able to explore this part of the world people have been dreaming about. I wanted to share this special place with people I wanted to be with or some friends, but sadly I was just really alone here. The reality of this place is that people just come and go, and the tourists will just spend a few days in one area then move on to the next island. I found myself just hanging out with people for a short time, should I call my 24h friends. In the end, I just had to savor my solitude and use this to freely explore the islands, my way.

15267572_10154811432338711_1993305973298913172_n.jpg

I wanted to go to “otro lado” or the “other side”. The other side of Puerto Ayora, the town in Sta Cruz island where I had been staying for weeks. It’s a cheap 10 minute speed boat taxi ride that will take you across the pier, which is another unique part of Sta. Cruz island.

After being taken to the other side, I got off the boat and walked through the forest and rugged lava rock formations. I was greeted by massive cacti along the way. I felt very welcomed here. It was one warm, beautiful day in the Galapagos. I passed by this really stunning pink salt lake, used to gather salt or preserving fish.

15327507_10154830924273711_1066948772931707190_n.jpg

Along the way, there's “La Playa de los Alemanes”, another beautiful white-sand beach of the island. Here you can go snorkeling or just hang out to enjoy the beautiful day. Don’t allow some flying friends that like to eat those breadcrumbs and junk food you brought because it’s not good for their diet. I know this is their comfort food as well. You are also not allowed to touch these little creatures, or you will be kicked out of the island by the national park guards.

C360_2017-07-20-16-21-47-682.jpg

Las Grietas, is one of the unique swimming holes in the island. Las Grietas means “The Cracks”, which is a series of volcanic crevices formed during the cooling of molten lava. The water coming down from the highlands is filtered by the porous lava stone of the island, then it mixes with sea water coming from the ocean. And the result is a crystalline, cool water of Las Grietas.

15338773_10154805163643711_8407265675458714990_n.jpg

Two is better than one...

This place became a popular tourist attraction and swimming destination for locals and visitors alike in Sta Cruz, island. They say it is not recommended to travel alone as the jagged lava rocks along the way can be tricky. But what can I do, it was just me. But who knows, perhaps I can go back here someday with a special someone....

C360_2017-07-20-16-16-25-937.jpg

But this place can be very crowded, especially in the morning when everyone wants to take advantage of the sunshine. The water was still cold though, but very refreshing. I felt like a minnow in this school of big fishes, but who cares. I jumped from the wooden platform and wow…

C360_2017-07-20-16-19-18-635.jpg

The water was cold and I felt alive. I suddenly forgot those people around me, so I swam further and dove into the deep, where I found peace. I was in another dimension, and it was magical. Surely, there’s no other way to escape the madness of this world but to go underwater.

15338622_10154808120203711_5776758703261136880_n.jpg

I didn’t want to breathe. I just wanted to dive deeper and be taken to another world. The world where I belong. There must be something going on down there, perhaps there's a portal to another place. I'm amazed by the mysterious deep. I wanted to reach it. I wanted to reach that invisible hand that was trying to reach me. But I couldn't. I couldn’t as it was not the time yet….

C360_2017-07-20-16-17-24-669.jpg

Yet at some point, I had to go up and keep my head above the water, face the reality of life again. The noise around me, the voices all talking at the same time. I couldn’t help but dive again, into the unknown where I belong. What better way to live a good life, I thought. What’s not to be happy about. The nature is amazing that you’ll forget about the material things in this world.

C360_2017-07-20-16-20-04-488.jpg

I wanted to stay there. I wanted to see where that voice was coming from. That hand I wanted to reach.. but not now, as I still have a long way to swim...

Perhaps I will join you someday....

Sort:  

The pictures are amazing and the place is stunning! I think I would be happy being there by myself. Of course having company is always nice, but spending some days at a beautiful place like this and having some time for myself in these surroundings sounds great. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! :)

Thanks @theywillkillyou, yeah, this is a beautiful place to spend some time alone, and just appreciate the beauty of nature.

But I've spent a long time here alone. So in the end, we also need to share the moments with friends.

Happiness is only real when shared.

Absolutely breathtaking photos! thanks

No worries! :)

Seems to be a very beautiful and amazing place... I love the deep under water solitude... keep posting... Love your adventures...
Peace !!!

It is! Thanks!

And where is that minnow now? :D

so beautiful.. I am looking forward to read ur book in the future.

My book? Hehehe. Steemit is now my book. ;)

nice paradise @diabolika
please look up my post too @zakiputrapratama . dont forget to upvote me

Amai ! Ik hou van je

the second to last picture is really great.

the one with the birds reminds me a bit of a singing disney princess
vvv.jpg

Yeah the deep part.

Hehe thanks always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87