And What Can I Make Out of This Vast, Lonely Desert of Salt?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-07-14-18-19-28-775.jpg

Memories, epic ones. You say jump, and I say get high. 3,565 meters above sea level is Bolivia’s Salar de Uyuni or the Salt Flats. The world’s largest, covering 10,582 sq km, this massive desert of salt is what’s left of the prehistoric lake that went dry. The salt flats are completely covered in salt during the dry season. And in the wet season, they are covered with a thin sheet of water. The sky is reflected in the brine when there’s a thin sheet of water, creating reflections that trick the eye. The Salt Flat is a photographer’s dreamland or for those who know how to have fun with photos. To say that this natural wonder is awe-inspiring is an understatement.

And if this still doesn’t ignite the travel bug in you, then read on. I’ll tell you from my own experience why travelers flock to South America just to visit this huge salty desert.

C360_2017-07-14-19-07-50-848.jpg

Still sleepless from having arrived at the town of Uyuni during the wee hours in the morning, accompanied by a Bolivian dog that seemed to have found a company with a fellow homeless. I found myself wandering in this ghost town. Everyone was still sleeping. Blame the bus ride, blame my lack of organization or my lack of care of the proper time to arrive in a place. I just love spontaneity.

I booked the day tour covering an entire day of touring the salt flats, although one can choose to do the 4-day camping tour that will include the great Atacama Desert of Chile, about 100+ bucks. I guess I wasn’t being adventurous enough that time, perhaps due to my exhaustion and not having a lot of money. So I went to see this famous wonder of nature just for a day, and check what this salty desert is all about.

C360_2017-07-14-18-20-16-455.jpg

It was hot and humid, and I was still in my Icy Andean attire coming from the higher altitude part of Bolivia. This is what makes South America such an amazing part of the world for traveling, the varying climates in different places, the amazing nature, and the landscape like you have never seen before. I just came to Bolivia this time via hitchhiking from the north of Argentina. Bolivia’s a beautiful country to visit, with its virgin nature and mysterious appeal, and Salt Flats is one of its pride.

C360_2017-07-14-18-18-45-797.jpg

I tasted the salty ground as to fulfill this crazy thing from my bucketlist. Salty indeed huh, never mind the dirt and the germs, I was a happy person. What can I say, this place is just a vast emptiness of blinding white. But I could appreciate the beauty in this massive space of nothingness. I stared in awe and looked at the blue sky to give my eyes a change of color. Too bad though, I was here during the dry season. So there was no thin sheet of water, meaning there was no reflection of some sort, like what you see in those famous shots. Regardless, I joined the bandwagon by taking the famous perspective pictures with a fellow traveler. Ok, that was fun.

Aside from trying to look far beyond, hoping to catch a glimpse of something out of the white plains, there's really nothing much else if you just take the day tour. There are giant cactuses that can be found at some part of the dessert though, and the jeepney will take you there. And there’s the beautiful sunset worth waiting for at the end of the tour. That's pretty much it, no over-glorification and all that. But I was happy to see this part of Bolivia and I recommend visiting this place to anyone traveling to South America.

C360_2017-07-14-18-18-18-152.jpg

Sort:  

This looks amazing. I love the first two pictures!

I tasted the salty ground as to fulfill this crazy thing from my bucketlist. Salty indeed huh, never mind the dirt and the germs, I was a happy person.

Hahah! Who cares about germs? I always say that it's good for my immune system ;D

Right hahaha. Thanks @sjennon! :)

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The last picture looks like you are in an endless virtual reality simulation. Totally unreal...but real:)

I'm putting Bolivia on my list now, haha (visiting Chile, Argentina and Paraguay in January)

Wow I'm happy for you @anarchospace! Let me know if you need tips for Chile And Argentina, omg too many places to see, and stories to write.

That last photo is stunning!! :D

I like the last picture the most also.

Also I want to go there but not sure if I want to stay there for 4 days

@flipstar, yeah I don't like to camp 4 days in the desert, although I heard it is beautiful to watch the stars at night, and go to the hidden lakes. But it would be really uncomfortable.

I totally taste salty landscapes too! Mono Lake tasted the grossest. Also, for some reason I never pictured cactus in Bolivia's salt flats...

Yes @therovingreader, taste the salty landscapes around the world would be a nice idea to travel with a style!

Wow...amazing place! Cool photos.

Adding to my list of places I'd like to visit (but probably never will) ;)

Thanks!! Why not? Do you love traveling @xaero1?

Used to...but I'm so well suited these days to 'roughing it'... still, there are hotels :)

I understand. The time will come.

Wow I leveled up today, when I don't expect things here on steemit. Things just come. I'm happy!

Cool to hear you are happy - that's always good! :)

Actually I was in Namibia last year visiting my sister (she has been virtually everywhere on planet - including the highest summits of several continents; she does expedition medicine). Anyway we did hire a 4x4 thingy, and were camping so I guess that counts! Btw, amazing place to visit, would definitely recommend.

Wow, sounds really exotic. I will check if I can go to Africa next time. I was still tired from my travel in South America.

Definitely! If I'd had much time I'd loved to have just taken that 4x4 and driven right into the kalihari desert over in Botswana...

I say, you go take that 4x4 and drive right into the desert next time. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84