You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk—Have You Faced Any Racism During Your Travels?

in #travel6 years ago

I am sorry to hear about what happened to you. I travel all the time and I was lucky I've never experienced racism. My husband is Dutch but his parents are originally from Indonesia so you can imagine he doesn't look like European. When he came for the first time to my home town people were giving him strange looks and were laughing at him because he didn't speak the language. Well, he did speak 5 other languages and those guys just 1 but it didn't matter to them. Now he speaks the language too and if somebody tells him something he can react quickly. Usually they don't do it anymore. So sad that people can't treat each other like humans.

I think Nelson Mandela said to a small African girl who asked him about racism that he doesn't see a colour, he sees a human.

Thank you for sharing! It's important to bring up such issues!

Sort:  

I think Nelson Mandela said to a small African girl who asked him about racism that he doesn't see a colour, he sees a human.

Thank you for sharing this line. I wish more people saw things like this.

When he came for the first time to my home town people were giving him strange looks.

Yeah I've faced something similar once...

I'm surprised that nowadays there are still people not seeing things like this to be honest..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65680.50
ETH 2657.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88