Snowy Austrian Spring [My Travel Blog]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

For years I deliberately left Austria off the list of countries I should visit. The reason was unclear, somewhere between "I use to live there' and 'It is way too expensive' for my Tent & Bicycle tours. It is even more unclear after I spent some time in those green fields and enjoyed the hospitality of Austria in last May.



Click on image for full size

The reason to visit Austria was a surprise, more than a good one. It was excellent, best news I could receive and true happiness. My best friend was getting married, and there was only one man in the whole world he would want to be his best man - me. We know each other since we were 4 years old and we went together through some serious shit. There is only one man who knows all my secrets, only one man who can see me crying, only one man I will call when I really need help - him! And vice versa - it's a man I spent the endless nights talking with when he was happy, when he was worried, when he needed time to think, or when he needed someone to laugh with.



Click on image for full size

Life separated us for thousands of miles, but never separated our true friendship. Some years ago, he decided to stay in Austria, and I decided to return to Serbia. Both decisions were because of love. And both love stories were unsuccessful. But that's another story, let's pretend that it is not important for the whole picture that we end up without soulmates at the beginning of this story.



Click on image for full size

When he showed up at my door, out of nowhere, in the company of a beautiful lady with a shy smile, I knew that he is up to something. She did not know him so good at that moment, and she was sure that they are in Serbia just because he had to finish some bureaucracy papers. And while they are there, it would be nice to visit his best friend and say Hi. I wasn't too surprised when he proposed her out of nowhere that night in front of me, but she was. It was February 14th, Valentine Day. Like I said - I know that old romantic soul very, very good. No, I did not cry, why do you ask... damn allergies.



Click on image for full size

Ok, this story is getting out of hands... Hallstatt! Get it together man!



Click on image for full size

So, I had good reason to visit Austria, and I had couple unused free days - so, naturally, I created a plan! I will go to some beautiful Austrian area before the wedding to relax and enjoy. After some thinking, the decision was made - I will visit Upper Austria and ride legendary Salzkammergut route. That route is 350 kilometres of cycling paradise around some of the most beautiful lakes in Salzburg area. Easy enough to be proper enjoyment, and hard enough not to be confused with walk in the park - the Salzkammergut route was perfect.



Click on image for full size

After some digging, I found excellent and very affordable accommodation in that area, and somewhere at the end of April, I arrived in Upper Austria. The day was beautiful, the smell of spring was in the air, the temperature was around 15 Celsius degrees, all fields were green and my morale was very high. While tasting local schnapps with my hosts, they mention that 'It smells like snow', but I was sure that this is some strange Austrian joke and went to bed full of energy and dedication to start the next day early in the morning with one long ride.



Click on image for full size

In the morning, my hosts had an opportunity to learn couple very bad Serbian words, while I was helping them to clean snow which somehow materialized from thin air during the night.



Click on image for full size

Since I really didn't want to ride on snow, after very strong breakfast, I decided to hike a little. Legendary Hallstatt was only 10 - 15 km away, depending on route, and my idea was to hike some distance, at least to the lake. I was sure that I am not ready to hike 30 km in a single day, especially on snow, so I decided that I will control myself and hike only 10-15 km in total. Strong decision!



Click on image for full size

So I gear up, put my snow boots and went into one easy hike. Somewhere at the beginning of the route, I found couple Mountain Rangers and they informed me that:

  • track is closed
  • they obviously cannot prevent me from going on the track when they are not around, for example in next 5 minute when they go further
  • if I fall and call them for help, they will have to charge me a fine
  • if I do not fall and get to the Hallstatt, I must try local coffee which is served with beer



Click on image for full size

I solemnly declared that I will not hike that closed path, and that my decision is just to walk a little, and that they do not have to worry, and that they may leave me there as soon as possible because it is getting really cold and I have to move to warm myself, and... so they left...
All rangers in the world are the same - if they like you, they will be blind and deft to little mischiefs. Offcourse, patch od Serbian Mountain Rangers on my jacket helps a lot.



Click on image for full size

So, I went to a little walk, nowhere near that closed track. It was boring and there is nothing I can say about it, so this is the end of this blog entry...
Almost...



Click on image for full size

Quite surprised, a few hours later, I watched Hallstatt from above. Not only that I hiked to Hallstatt, I did it through the mountain and that closed track. I really do not know what happened. It must be that Austrian schnapps they give me after the breakfast. Whatever was the reason, I was there and I decided to find some pub to drink coffee and think about the purpose of life universe and everything.



Click on image for full size

While ordering coffee, which came with delicious local beer, I thought about the amazing path I just crossed. To be honest, during summer it is very easy and fun path. But on slippery snow, it was demanding and I had to remind myself to keep concentration high, which was not the easy task. The damn view was amazing! Even though I had very low visibility and heavy snow, I was aware that I rarely hiked more beautiful area. It was stunning!



Click on image for full size

After tasting local coffee, which came with beer, I judged that my knees are holding together and that I may be able to hike back. Actually, I saw another path which seemed a little bit easier and more secure but offered a different view of the area. So I decided - what the hell, let's hike back.



Click on image for full size

To be honest, on last five miles, I almost regretted that decision. My knees were on fire, and they were broken and fixed couple times. My doctor was very precise what he is going to cut out of my body if he sees me again, and since I do like that part of me (it gives me a lot of fun and joy) I was careful and slow. And I loved every single step and every single view that was in front of me.



Click on image for full size

So, should you hike that path? For sure - if there is no snow. During winter, it is not advisable if you are not experienced. I also heard that it is forbidden during winter. But, even if you have to use two bags of frozen peas on your knees after the hike - it is worth.



Click on image for full size

Hallstatt is amazing little town, and hike the mountain up to this amazing town was pure joy. The town itself is so beautiful that when you see it, you can understand why it is among most visited towns in whole Austria.



Click on image for full size

I know I didn't write anything about Hallstatt. There is a good reason for that - I did ride the Salzkammergut route last May, few days after this hike. I did visit Hallstatt again at the end of that course. So, one day, I will write about Hallstatt properly. There is so much about this town, it deserves a separate text. Plus, I still have to be a best man in one wedding. Until then, enjoy the snowy path to the amazing Hallstatt.



Click on image for full size


Camera info: Sony A6000, Lens: Sigma 19mm DN
I hope you will enjoy in these photos as much as I enjoyed taking them.

This blog entry is part of My Travel Blog series.

I have many more travel stories in my bag, so stay tuned.
All my posts are !originalworks and all my photos are @originalworks

To see all entries featured on @SteemitWorldMap, click here to visit my author link.





Sort:  

Another fantastic travel post Dejan. Your photos are gorgeous as always, and this travel story is really fun. I love the bit about how the rangers told you not to go, but if you do, try local coffee which is served with beer. Lol! That's hilarious.

Sorry your knees didn't fare well, but I'm assuming you will live to hike another mountain and make another post about it for us to enjoy.

Thank you very much @choogirl, I am really glad that you like it. As long as the knees - they are all right, ready for new adventures ;)

What a great story! Love the interaction with the mountain rangers. You have such a fun and engaging way of telling a story it and then you pair it with photography like this! What absolutely gorgeous shots. This is a terrific travel post, I feel like this should be showcased and used as an exhibit for future travel bloggers here on Steem blockchain :)

Speaking of which...

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the current Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

This is great news, thank you very much for very kind words. It really means a lot!
Offcourse I agree to be featured and you may use any part or whole blog for that purpose, it will be a pleasure and honor to be part of Showcase.
I'll contact you over discord to provide requested info.

Best regards - Dejan

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Thank you very much, as always it is a true pleasure and honour to be featured by @steemitworldmap!

Austrian landscape always looks better with snow! You had beautiful weather and did a good job in photographing it!

Thank you @steef-05, it was very pretty with snow, but even prettier couple days later when everything was green. I had a lot of luck to see that area under the snow and in full bloom in just a few days :)

Beautiful photography and enjoyed reading your experience.

@dejan.vuckovic incredible photos. Congratulations!

Snow is only in our dream who life in Asia... Snow look so fantastic..

Thank you, glad that you like it :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dejan.vuckovic
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=snowy-austrian-spring-my-travel-blog


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47