Slow Down, Tourist – The Castle of the Squirrels

in #travel6 years ago

00 P1040970A.jpg

One of the largest castles in the Czech Republic is Hrad Veveří, “Burg Eichhorn” in German, which means “Castle Squirrel”. It is about 12-15 kilometers (7-9 miles) to the North West of the city of Brno (Brünn), the capital of Moravia, by the River Svratka.

01 P1040125A.jpg

On the map, I marked the castle with an arrow (near upper left corner), and at the bottom, on the right, “Bystrc” is a part of Brno. Here you can get on a tram and take one of this ships if you are traveling without a car:

02 P1040498A.jpg

The castle is on the hill, ruling the river, completing a picturesque landscape, in harmony with nature.

03 P1040424A.JPG

Okay, maybe this modern pedestrian and bicyclist bridge is varying the landscape too much. But very useful if you are wandering along the river.

04 P1050016A.jpg

According to legend, the castle Veveří ("squirrel" in Czech) was founded by Přemyslid Duke Conrad of Brno in the middle of the 11th century, as a hunting lodge. Nevertheless, the first credible recorded mention about the castle is from the years 1213 and 1222, when King Přemysl Otakar I used the fortified castle as a prison for rebellious peers.
(Wikipedia)

05 P1050033A.jpg

The biggest tower on the pictures is the keep, the oldest part. The typical European middle ages castle had a keep, a large fortified tower built in the middle or in the strongest part of the castle. It was the residence of the nobles living in the castle, and the best fortified, best defendable part, used also like the last refuge in case of an assault.

06 P1050024A.jpg

The owners of the castle later constructed a large outer castle to have more defensive power.

07 P1050005A.jpg

I was always wondering with how many ornaments, embellishments people were enriching objects in those old times. As by these weapons, all of them a different little piece of art.

08 P1050063A.jpg

Leaving the castle again, on the sinuous river, the river in the middle of the woods.

09 P1050077A.jpg

Other posts in my series “Slow down, tourist” you may want to read:

99 P1040322.jpg

(Camera and objectives used to take photos in this post: Panasonic DMC-FS3 /compact/.)

You can message me on Discord.

Sort:  

Very beautiful castle. I wonder why it's called Castle of the Squirrels.

Maybe 700 years ago many squirrels were living in the woods.

Its looks like the castle from kingdom come deliverance if you haven't played it i recommend it :)

Do you mean the game "Kingdoms and Castles"?

No its a game called kingdom come deliverance, a single player RPG, kinda like Skyrim but more historically accurate. If you are in to history and games its totally for you.

I've always been fascinated with castles and other prehistoric buildings and weapons. I enjoyed reading your post a lot because it's filled with little details about this once famous castle in the old times. The pictures you've included in this post were really good as well. Thanks for sharing this.

Great article! It's very interesting to learn the olden days! I love History, and seeing and knowing things in that past excite me. I love those weapons, It's very amazing how knowledgeable and artistic people in the past, not mentioning they made everything by hand! You are very luck to have the opportunity to see it yourself! But we appreciate that you are willing to share your story to us! Looking forward for more story of your fun adventure!

Loved the photo's. Makes me want to travel Europe again :)

You got a 45.87% upvote from @bdvoter courtesy of @deathcross!

Delegate your SP to us at @bdvoter and earn daily 100% profit share for your delegation & rewards will be distributed automatically daily.

500 SP, 1000 SP, 2500 SP, 5000 SP, 10000 SP.

If you are from Bangladesh and looking for community support, Join BDCommunity Discord Server & If you want to support our service, please set your witness proxy to BDCommunity.

That looks amazing. I really enjoyed the HD images too. Very impressive. I thought maybe I'd see a squirrel in the pictures, but the castle was impressive, heh.

I was expecting a castle overrun by squirrels.

Your photos are very beautiful and Mono Mugdeco, which I love a lot💖💖

i have to go there one day

According to legend, the castle Veveří ("squirrel" in Czech) was founded by Přemyslid Duke Conrad of Brno in the middle of the 11th century, as a hunting lodge. Nevertheless, the first credible recorded mention about the castle is from the years 1213 and 1222, when King Přemysl Otakar I used the fortified castle as a prison for rebellious peers.

🤔

Something intrigues me

was founded ... as a hunting lodge

And then

used the fortified castle as a prison for rebellious peers.

I'm not going nuts. But maybe, just maybe, the legends were true. One in a while, one from among the 'rebellious peers' was let loose into the woods with promise of freedom and then hunted for sport.

Alternatively, the squirrels were the hunted ones. I prefer the first story.

It's just my mind adding 2 and 2 and getting 22222.

great pictures by the way

Do you mind I use one? (I'll reference you as the source)

I want to write a story based on what I think

Blessings

It was the Wikipedia, so you can correct it yourself. But you are comparing two distinct centuries:
11th century ---> 1000-1099 (or, 1001-1100?)
13th century ---> 1200-1299 (or, 1201-1300?)
What will happen with Steem in 200+ years?

you are comparing two distinct centuries:
11th century ---> 1000-1099 (or, 1001-1100?)
13th century ---> 1200-1299 (or, 1201-1300?)

I know. That's the stuff of fiction. I can collapse events occurring at different times into one event. 😜

great pictures by the way
Do you mind I use one? (I'll reference you as the source)

I'll take your silence as a yes

Yes, you can use it. Thanks for the reference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36