You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The bee hunters of Nepal. / Die Bienenjäger Nepals.

in #travel6 years ago

This is unbelievable - I mean that both hyperbolically in that the post and the behavior described is awesome and edifying - but I also mean it literally insofar as I can neither believe the lengths human beings will go for honey, nor the extent of the structures bee's can construct.

Do you know by chance what the honey hunters do with the honey they collect? Is this for personal or local use, or is it being collected for resale as exotic honey?

Sort:  

They are selling most of it in the bigger cities in Nepal as it is sad to be a good medicine. I got my information from a TV documentary on this subject which I have watched some weeks ago.

That's what I kind of figured - something edible that's this hard to get, growing in a place that difficult to reach, in structures that strange looking had to be sold at a high mark up for it's ostensible, ephemeral taste/health effects.

Yes, indeed, they sell most of the honey ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77