STEEMing at Bagby Hot Springs, Oregon

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Oregon was the final frontier for me in the lower 48 of the United States. I still have to make it to Alaska and Hawaii to finish visiting all 50 states, but Oregon was my 48th. I wish I could have been there while @nomadicsoul was there since it is her stomping grounds and she knows a lot of amazing places in the area. But the whole reason I decided to go was a last minute decision because my friend, @toddhata was in Portland visiting one of his friends and I was in Seattle working a short-term job. Todd invited me to come down and see him and meet his friend, Julia. It had been a while since I'd gotten out of my little bubble so I decided to take a long weekend and make the drive down.


For one of the days I was there, Julia suggested that we drive into Mt Hood National Forest (aka The Hood) and hike to Bagby Hot Springs where we could soak in the warm spring water. Sounded good to us. It had to be easier than the Utah hikes we did, right? Plus a natural spa? Yas.

We drove about 2 hours from Portland into the mountains. Once we got to the trailhead, we found out it was about a 1.5 mile hike to get to the springs. It was a gradual uphill hike, nothing difficult. The fact that it was raining on and off and on again was the annoying part. But this is the Pacific Northwest and is to be expected.

vlcsnap-2018-08-02-01h13m40s716.png

So me, Todd, Julia, and her dog, Bandit, made it to the hot spring which we found out was a bathhouse built in the middle of the forest. There were tubs for single and couples but also larger tubs for small groups. Since this was a Saturday, there was a line to use the tubs. The posted signs say keep your soaking time to 45 minutes if there are people waiting. We ended up waiting about an hour before we got a tub. It would have been sooner if the water going into the tubs wasn't gravity fed. If someone had the valve open next to you, you wouldn't get any water, so the tub at the end stayed almost empty. because everyone else was filling their tubs.

vlcsnap-2018-08-02-01h13m55s466.png

We soaked in the very warm water for our 45 minutes and ended up looking like prunes. But it was such a cool experience to hike to a forest bathhouse and bathe surrounded by nature.

vlcsnap-2018-08-02-01h14m14s482.png

Would you bathe in the forest?

Music used:
Dawn by Sappheiros
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxLKyBhC6igFhLEb0gxvQNg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I have been there! But - my favorite place is Umpqua Hot Springs!!!!

Now I know where to go next time.

ooo cool @maneki-neko are you from Oregon?

LOL! Love the thumbnail hahaha. OMG I almost went here last September/October and the stupid forest fires ruined everything!!!!!

WHY WHY WHY are you in Oregon when I'm not there?!

Next time I'm there I'll try to be sure you're there too.

Dave! Put some clothes on brotha! Lol man I would love a good soak in some hot spring water like that. I’m a sucker for hot tubs of any kind. Happy STEEMing 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Join me next time, haha

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=erfs1o3i


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by daveonarrival from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27