Nomadic Nuggets! Teakettle Junction. (Original Photos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hi gang. Nugget time. Check out this quirky sight we happened upon after a 20 mile drive on a hazardous drive on a desert road.

TeaKettle00a.jpg

This intersection of secluded road is known as Teakettle Junction. I'll give you one guess as to why it's called that. Actually, I'll give you around a hundred guesses, as that's approximately how many teakettles are hanging on the sign at any given time. We were on our way to see the famous "sailing rocks" of Death Valley and that road I mentioned really is treacherous, full of sharp rocks and miles away from, well..., anywhere. It has become tradition for travelers to attach a teakettle to this lone wooden road sign and many have notes or messages written on them. Some even have messages written on paper and stuffed inside of them. My buddy, Steve, and I checked them out for a few minutes, grabbed a selfie, then continued onto the Racetrack Playa to find some moving rocks!

TeaKettle00b.jpg



'Nomadic Nuggets' are bits of interesting and quirky things we've come across on our travels. They are 100% original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels, and exclusive to Steemit.com!

Sort:  

Nice travelling experience, Which country is it located and why did they call the place Teakettle junction actually..

It’s in California, United States. I’m not sure why it was originally called that. I read a theory that early pioneers put a teakettle there to signal there was a seasonal lake near by, but I don’t know if that’s true. Then visitors just started hanging tea kettles on the sign because of the name.

Lol.. It is funny.. I initially thought that there is a TEA CAFE around there and they used it to Advertise or show direction.

Thanks for the upvote

I wish i could visit there also, am from NIGERIA

I think it's because it's called teakettle because it's a T-junction. Three roads

Sounds like a reasonable theory.

So what does teakettle really mean

A teakettle is just a pot with a spout on it used to heat up water for making tea.

Okay. I think I got one at home
😂 😂 😂

Wow ..nice travel..only teakettles?no tea or coffee?..just kidding..lol

Ha! The next intersection should be called "Coffee Pot Junction". :)

I think sun tea might be better out there.

Seriously. Depending on the time year, you could probably make hot tea at this intersection.

This is awesome journey, why did day called that spot Teakettle junction? Trust you are good sir.

I’m not sure why it was originally called that. I read a theory that early pioneers put a teakettle there to signal there was a seasonal lake near by, but I don’t know if that’s true. Then visitors just started hanging tea kettles on the sign because of the name.

Okay, that really sounds so funny to me Hahah ( hanging tea kettle) thanks for sharing once again. Stay blessed sir.

Haha nice nugget! It’s the little things that you find on adventures that are the best. Out my way in Australia there is a National Park fence with a few hundred shoes of various types tied to it. I’ll be sure to share a pic next time I’m out that way :)

There's quite a few oddball things we've come across, like this. That's why I started the "nomadic nugget" thing; because they don't really fit into the nature theme I usually post about, but they're still worth sharing. I can't wait to get to the land down under!

This makes me nostalgic ... i need to head back to the Sailing Stones!
But it's just too dang hot there now. Gotta wait for cooler weather I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15