Tips From a World Traveler Series : Volume 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5199.jpg
This is the first post in a series dedicated to some of the things I have learned from traveling the world the past 14+ years. I usually travel 4 months of the year in Asia, Africa or Central America.

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or a health advisor. You are responsible for your own decisions and action. DYOR

Staying healthy is the most important thing to make a journey a successful. Getting a stomach bug or other gastrointestinal issue is one of the most common ways to ruin a trip.

Volume 1 - Stomach Health:

Prevention is the best medicine!

Avoiding contamination takes using some discrimination. When traveling Asia, Africa and Central America I will usually avoid street foods, ice cream, ice drinks (unless I know they use filter water for their ice), peeled fruits and raw vegetables (served). I try to eat at vegetarian places when ever possible and/or restaurants that have open kitchen that look clean. I also look for places to rent where I can have my own kitchen and/or buy fruit and veggies from the market and prepare the food myself. When I don’t have a kitchen I will make salads and sandwiches. If you are from these places your gut has evolved to deal with these bacteria and so you don’t have any problems. Because of years of experience I now rarely have any stomach issues. The first aid iteams I cover in this post I usually end up giving out to other travelers that are unprepared.

Stomach First Aid:

A must have for your first aid kit is Activated Charcoal! Don’t leave home without it! At the first sign of any stomach discomfort this is my go-to. I will usually pop 2 capsules of the activated charcoal and see how I feel in a couple hours. I have used it to treat; food poisoning, gas, indigestion and bacterial/viral infection. If I get a bad case of diarrhea I will take 2 capsules at a time, spread through out the day, up to 8 capsules in the day. This will usually take care of it in 1-2 days. Note that if you are on any medication activated charcoal can nullify its effects. More info here - https://www.natural-holistic-health.com/the-benefits-of-activated-charcoal/

Another great element for your first aid kit is edible clay. There are many processed clays which can be consumed, I recommend bentonite clay. Clay can be used both internally as well as externally. I have found clay also to be good for upset stomachs. It is also a liver cleanser, it balances the digestive tract, strengthens immunity, it alkalizes the entire body, removes heavy metals and can be used on open wounds and insect stings or irritated skin.

Because clay removes heavy metals it is important not to use metal in preparing it, use plastic, glass or wood for your spoon and cup. I put 1 table spoon in a glass of water stir it and drink it down. It doesn’t have the greatest taste so wash it down with more water. There is tons of information online about bentonite clay, here is one article that may be of interest - https://draxe.com/10-bentonite-clay-benefits-uses/

For the mother of stomach problems that these two fail to cure I pull out the big cleansing guns! This one has worked great for me but I know others who have difficulty in executing it. It is a salt water colon cleanse flush.

It is essential to have an empty stomach before doing this cleanse, so it is best to do first thing in the morning or while fasting. Mix 2 tea spoons of organic sea salt or himalayan pink salt (non-iodized) with 1 liter of warm water (32 oz). Stir until the salt is completely dissolved. Drink it down! Some find it easier to drink through a straw. Some people might need to run directly to the toilet some may need to drink more solution. It usually takes me 1.5 to 2 liters of the solution and about an hour for the movement to begin. It takes me 4-7 trips to the bathroom to finish the cleanse.

Constipation:

Many times travel can also lead you to the other end of the spectrum. Jet lag and not having your known toilet near by can put an end to your daily movements. Psyllium husk is a great natural solution to this. It is even good for general gut health when you aren’t constipated. Unlike laxatives and castor oil psyllium husk is gentle. This is also something I have been able to find in stores in India its called Isabgol and can be bought everywhere. To use it I simply put a spoon full in a cup of water and drink it down, if you wait it will become a thick gel. Learn more here - https://draxe.com/psyllium-husk/

When traveling (especially when you get diarrhea) dehydration can becomes a problem. You can either carry the ready made electrolyte packets or make your own. I prefer to make my own. When I want to make a electrolyte drink I fill a container with 1 liter of pure water add 1/2 tablespoon good salt (non-iodized), 1/2 teaspoon baking soda (best is Bob’s Red Mill brand), half a fresh squeezed lemon and 2 tablespoons honey. Stir to dissolve. It will foam up a bit so be ready and leave enough room in your container. Sipping is important rather than gulping it down as it aids the rehydration process, so drink it slowly. A straw can aid in this. Coconut is also a great fruit for rehydration but it is a laxative.

Of course clean water is another concern when traveling. I prefer to carry a hand-pump water filter than to buy bottled water because of all the problems these bottles create (also most bottled water is not that pure). I have the Katadyn Hiker filter which works great. Yes, bottles can be recycled but this takes energy and many times they end up in the rivers anyway. Let take better care of our fresh water sources! I also like to search out local springs and simply boil the water and let it cool for drinking later. UV pens are another option but I wouldn't recomend relying on this for a longterm trip as tap water from many of these places could have other contaminants than bacteria such as pesticides, pharmacutales, heavy metals, etc.

Hope you enjoyed this! Look out for my next post on this Series of Tips From a World Traveler! Looking forward to your questions and comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46