Jet Engine Explodes During Flight

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I worked for a division of Alcoa Aluminum that makes the fan blades like those that killed one of the passengers today. The jet engine fans spin at about 30,000 revolutions per minute developing tremendous centrifugal force that if the blade works free it is hurled at tremendous velocity away from the engine and in this case into the plane fuselage. I know about the extremely rigorous testing procedures that include an x-ray of each blade to ensure it is perfect and ready for installation into an engine. Once in the engine and on the plane who knows how it is maintained. There is all kinds of crap that will go through a jet engine to include birds and sand and sometimes even tools left by workers and God knows what else.
https://nypost.com/2018/04/17/engine-explodes-during-southwest-flight/
180417-plane-window-breaks-feature.jpg

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

I don't fly in airplanes any longer
but when I did I would NOT sit near an engine.
that very same thought occurred to me at the time.

Again, another "great minds think along the same lines" moment.

That’s crazy !

How so? It happened in 2016 as well. It happens once in a while.

I know but you don’t hear about incidents like this happening often. I honestly don’t even remember it happening in 2016.

Of all the jet engines in all the planes out there it is amazing it doesn't happen more often, but I'm glad that it is rare. I have to say though that I avoid a seat alongside the jet engine main fan.

I never really thought of it, or that it could happen. I guess I will be more mindful of where I’m seated on the plane going forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75