You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deported! Leaving Mexico the hard way: Part 7

in #travel7 years ago

Crazy how the Trump administration is impacting an Australian living in Mexico. I'm seriously considering a move to Mexico for many of the same reasons you were there, but this posts makes me a bit nervous about the move. I intend to follow the legal channels and obtain my temporary resident visa - as a matter of practicality - but it sounds like I could potentially be removed from the country on a whim.

Sort:  

It's a possibility. It seems certain nationalities get targeted - Pakistanis, Indians, central Americans, even Mexicans. The Pakistani PRs that were detained (to my knowledge) were all released back into Mexico City, not deported.

I did make a point of noting that even people with papers got picked up, because I wanted all my haters to know that even if you have papers, they are no guarantee. However, I don't think that situation is very likely for many people.

Whatever you decide to do with the bureaucracy, I do recommend staying at least for a few months in Mexico and exploring.

Thanks for the encouragement! I'm in Mexico 4-5 weeks per year and hoping to make it a more permanent thing. I love the culture and the relative freedom. Were you fluent in Spanish before moving?

My Spanish was around 60% at that stage. Enough to keep learning without classes or anything. How is your Spanish?

I'm about 25% now. Maybe goes to 30% after a week in CDMX. Between my broken Spanish, prevalence of English in major cities and technology I'm comfortable in my communication. I do, however, want to become fully conversational.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48