Street Art from Lima, Peru and a trip to the Selva Central

in #travel8 years ago

I was recently in Peru in May.  I don't think steemit had launched so I couldn't wear a cool shirt to prove these are my photos..

These images prepared me for my trip to the jungle


I just spent a very few days in Lima, and then I was off to the Selva Central.  Atalaya, to be precise.  It's a 12-hour bus ride to a town called Satipo, and then a 6-8 hour 4x4 to Atalaya, which included this river crossing.

Upon reaching Atalaya my destination was a farm 2-3 hours up river.  Atalaya is at the confluence of the Rio Tambo and the Rio Urubamba.  These two rivers form to make the Rio Ucayali, the principal river in the Peruvian Amazon and a tributary of the Amazon.  The collectivo public boats heading up river leave very early in the morning, so I was up by 5:00 am and the light on the river was beautiful at that hour. 

Arrival to the Farm

Upon arrival there was always lots of work to do.  My main goal was to learn traditional medicine. 

This is the house where I ate most of my meals

and this is the house where I was sleeping 

The man who owns the farm has been studying traditional medicine since he was a child and is now in his 70's.

Towards the end of my stay a film crew showed up to document his work  

The days were filled with kids playing

and animals

After a few weeks of sometimes very intense work it was time to leave.  We went down river on a much smaller boat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87