One Day In Paris: A Travelogue

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One Day In Paris: A Travelogue

Steemit, I have returned!

My long awaited trip to Europe including Paris, France and Athens, Greece has come and gone. And an amazing trip it was! Although the weather in France was cold and wet, nothing could dampen my spirits as I was reunited with my youngest daughter after a six month separation. She, her new husband, and I toured the city in whirlwind fashion over twelve hours, taking in some of the most iconic sights Paris has to offer.

IMG_0714.jpg

Standing before the Eiffel Tower was a surreal moment. After decades of seeing the Tower in photographs, hearing about it in history books, images in movies, sketches, paintings, and speaking about it in conversation, there it was. I likened the moment to meeting a famous person in the flesh. I know you, but I don't know you. Stretching up into the Paris skyline, the Eiffel Tower symbolizes France, itself. The indisputable embodiment of the city, country, and people.

IMG_0713.jpg

Not far from the Eiffel Tower is another of Paris' major landmarks, the Arc de Triomphe. Built to honor those who fought and died in France's Revolutionary War and the Napoleanic Wars, this monument was constructed in 1836. Erected at the juncture of 12 avenues that radiate out into the city, it stands proudly, embellished with the names of the victorious Generals and their victories.

IMG_0720.jpg

Perhaps my favorite picture from the entire trip abroad, here are myself and my daughter, still basking in the glow of our reunification.

29633116_10215617096123220_1887066372_o.jpg

Running through the center of the city is the Seine River. Flanked by concrete banks, the Seine is an important commercial waterway and tourist destination. Many artists displayed their works along its banks as did merchants selling souvenirs and other items as barges made their way up and down the waters.

IMG_0718.jpg

Located on the Ponts des Arts is what is left of the Love Locks. Once, lovers would inscribe their initials, or a short phrase, on a padlock and affix it to the sides of the many bridges that cross the Seine. A symbol of their undying love. However, concerns around the weight of the thousands of locks on each bridge forced Paris to remove most of them some time ago. Here is a small section that yet remains...

IMG_0724.jpg

We did take a break at a small cafe across from the Notra Dame Cathedral for a charcuterie and wine! Loaded with delectable meats, breads, and pates, and confit.

IMG_0727.jpg

Of course, no Bread and Board is complete without a bit of nice French wine to wash it all down with!

IMG_0726.jpg

After nearly 11 miles of walking around Paris (17 kilometers for most of the world) we returned to our hotel for a good night's rest. My daughter and I would be leaving for Athens, Greece in the morning via Air France.

Stay tuned for incredible pictures and adventures from Greece in my next Travelogue installment.

IMG_0730.jpg

So happy to be back on Steemit! I can't wait to see what all of you have been up to while I was away. Cheers!

DQmZHySmTCf2HBXmbtfZkf4vuxyrCxpCzd6APSv1iP19Vhq_200x200.png

Sort:  

Glad to have you back Braveboat!
Nice to read you had and excellent trip, Paris sure is a beautiful city.

Fantastic post, Jeff. I'm glad to see such a happy reunion with your daughter. I'd love to visit Paris. It looks like such an amazing place.

Looking forward to the next write up!

What did you think of the French wine? That red you were drinking looked quite purple which is odd.

This looks amazing! Paris is such a Nice place.
And the food looks very Nice too. I hope You’re having fun!

Good to hear you had a great time in Paris! Amazing photos!

Welcome back!

Now it's start @braveboat

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17