Travel - What's The Big Deal?

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

"The world is a book and those who don’t travel only read one page." Unknown

Travel - We All Seem To Have a Desire To Travel!

So where does the urge to travel come from?

It seems to be in our DNA. When you get that urge, what vision pops into your mind's eye? A cruise to Alaska or some other far-off destination, an AMTRAK rail trip across our big, beautiful country, perhaps a rail trip across Canada through the scenic Canadian Rockies or an airline flight to the romantic city of Paris or...

cruise-ship-1775445__340.jpg

american-2721441__340.jpg

train-166052__340.jpg

For me, it's a road trip in my converted van. I've traveled all over the globe when I was in the U.S. Air Force. I had the good fortune to visit most of the countries in Europe, the Middle East, the Far East and South America. It was great and the best education one could get regarding this huge planet we call home, but now I love traveling North America in my van.

Webp.net-resizeimage.png

Webp.net-resizeimage (1).png

All one has to do is look at the work of John Muir and Ansel Adams to get the itch to travel this great land.

To get even more out of your travels, try "travel writing." This might open up a whole new world for you, it did for me! I have a travel blog and I try to add to it along with photos quite often. For example, I spent the better part of January and February, 2019 in the Sonoran Desert of southern Arizona along with hundreds of snow birds from the frozen north. Having a converted van opens up a whole new world for discovering our great land. It's comfortable and suitable for living off grid for weeks at a time. It's small enough that it will go most anyplace I might want to visit. I've seen larger RV's having very difficult times in the desert and mountains traversing the terrain.

A converted van affords us the ability to literally get away from it all; to travel to places where no man has gone before, so to speak and literally so in some mountains and desert areas. I enjoy traveling all the back roads, the dirt roads; the roads less traveled and camping off grid. That's where all the joy is as opposed to driving among all other travelers on the freeways and staying in crowded and expensive RV parks.

So, why do you travel?

Source: Most of the photos in this blog are provided courtesy of pixabay.com.

“If you liked this article, please follow me here on Steemit. I’ll follow you back. I’ll be bringing you more good quality content in the weeks to come.”

Until next time…

Sort:  

Congratulations @billjones! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02