Icons at Besakih

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I thought I knew a bit about Hindu mythology and symbols. However, Balinese Hinduism is slightly different. There are many things that are similar, but some iconography are almost completely different.

For example, in conventional Indian Hindu iconography, dragon is not an element you see. Dragon is Chinese... or so I thought. But here is Bali, dragon is everywhere. Generally it is used as a protector. It is actually related to Nag Basuki, which is the great snake in Hindu mythology. However, looks totally like a dragon in Bali.

There are some of the protector statues all over the temple complex. I like the setting sunlight on it, as I have often observed that light in Bali is quite spectacular.

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

that looks aweson!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-20T03:16:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 347.90/200.00
Total Photos: 57
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@azircon that was really informative thanks for sharing :-) Happy Steeming
Don't forget to follow me and have a look at my pot

Posted using Partiko Android

My goodness! What a great i see. :)
beautiful place & wonderful photography @azircon

Ohhhh, dragons are welcome everywhere... I'm one, so I know! :)
The light in Bali is definitely more golden than anywhere else I know... Seems to bathe everything in gold... Island of the Gods, you see...

Island of gods indeed

The Gods must be smiling...

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81