Venturing from lake to lake!

in #travel6 years ago

We saw a variety of fascinating scenes, around each bend in the road, from the town of Nelson to Picton’s harbour. 

Scenery on the `first leg’:

The Pelorus Bridge & river:

As we rode over the funny old bridge, I wasn’t expecting anything special. But the family turned off the road anyway, and found parking (on left side) just after the other side of the bridge. 

`What now?’ I silently thought to myself. But since everyone was getting out of the cars, I got out too. 

This is what it’s like when touring. You never know what next you’ll find. It’s part of the adventure. Going places you’ve never been to before.  

So I just followed everyone else, wherever they went. They walked back towards the bridge. 

 

And just before the bridge they turned to the right and climbed down the hillside. It looked so steep too me! If you remember, I’m scared of unsafe heights. 

It was difficult to climb down:

Why? Because there were no proper steps or hand rail, and you had to navigate big odd shaped bounders and rocks. Not a place for little old ladies like me! 

But if you know me, that doesn’t stop me, as my family teases me. They say, “If she has a camera in her hands (or hanging around her neck) she can do anything!” 

Yes, I’ll do anything to get photos I can possibly use later for paintings. I love the adventure of the challenges just waiting around each corner. 

And what a sight met my eyes! 

With shaky legs, I did climb down. And going down between weeds and over rocks and around bounders, far below, was a most rare gorgeous river scene. 

There were quite a lot of people milling around. And one or two had decided to jump in the river. It was such a delightful place. We stayed there sometime looking around and soaking up its magnificent vista. 

The view from the bridge:

Then climbing back up the side of the hillside, we walked over the bridge, and got this lovely scene from the bridge.  

It’s an oil painting. I didn’t put all the knobbly bits of the rocks in, because it would make the painting look too busy, itsy-bitsy and finicky! 

Then getting back in our cars, we drove on again, until unexpectedly we came across... 

Cullen Point Lookout:

After Havelock, going around a mountainside, we came across a sightseeing spot. It was on a very sharp bend of the road, with the land protruding out into a large lake just at that point.  

When we got out of our cars were discovered an impressive sight, with the lake surrounding it and distant blue mountain ranges on all sides. 

We had thought this was a good place to stop and stretch our legs and take a few photos. But it seems we weren’t the only ones viewing the lake.  

There were many other tourists there too with their cameras, taking photos from all angles. And any available parking spots were taken up with tourists, their buses and Lucy touring vans. Wherever we went through the south island, you would find those Lucy hired holiday vans! 

As you can see this photo has a dust road in the foreground. People were going up that road too, to get a higher view of the lake, on both sides of the lookout point. 

Ngakuta Bay

After travelling on again, we came across Ngakuta and stopped to rest and ventured onto the bay’s beach. It seemed a popular holiday resort area, with sailing boats.  

If you look on the map, it lies between Anakiwa and Picton. 

On the way to and through the Ngakuta bay area, we were fascinated by the variation and unusual vegetation and trees.  

  

Sort:  

i am always appreciating your post.because your post always perfect and original.i am alltime your work supporter fully.new zealand is a beautifull country in the world.you telling about traveling awesome spot of new zealand sides.what i can question pls?every week you travelling another place of new zealand.but you giving a excellent post today in your blog. this place name town of Nelson to Picton’s harbour. every pucture very impressive.because you pic up every photo very perfectly.this river,green nature field and hill,bridge,water fall of river just fully remarkable.i hope you enjoy your good day with nice place.have a good day.you are a lucky person in this platform.because always got alots advantage of travel every week new place.thanks to sharing for your nice post of travelling.very well done.i want you support my work.your support very needs for me.because i think that,if you support my work everydsy fully i am of course success in the future very soon.take care yourself and best of luck of your work.personally i thought you are my best friend in this platform.so,you doing alltime support my work and gives alots encourage my steemit work..may god bless you and your husband..my best wishes for you..thank you..my dear friend..@artguru

As to your question: My husband and I actually live in South Africa. We visited New Zealand about 2-3 years ago, by invitation of our family living there. The photos were taken as we toured with our family while there. Our family in New Zealand organized the tours so well, that is why we had something great to see and do, every day.
Back here in Johannesburg, I prepare my blogs 1-3 weeks ahead of time and list them. So my New Zealand blogs are all already to be posted according to my list. That also gives me time to paint a few paintings and prepare other normal blogs in between.
And on the day of posting I check to see if I've missed something out, possibly change things or correct anything that's necessary.
I remembered everything we did because we had such an exciting time there. When your emotions are involved, you remember a lot of things.
And lastly, the top first photo, is used as the icon image introduction to all my New Zealand trip blogs. If you go to my Steemit page: @artguru, you will see all my NZ posts begin like that.

yeah,i am understand your telling words.your all travelling place of new zealand very excellent.i am always appreciate your post.because your post alltime perfect and real.i am support your every work and i visit your steemit page.i am seen alots of travelling place this page. really very fanrmtastic.i think that,your travelling place picture really very beautifull.its one of them best blog of travelling amazing place.thank you for your appreciating comment reply.very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you.my friend.. @artguru i am waiting your next post...

I think I'm commenting late, But after viewing this wonderful images i can't stop myself to comment, You know when you are traveling long and you have these wonderful and beautiful scenes on the way, it makes your journey more pleasant and refreshing. look at these mountain and water lake , how peaceful they are looking. I'm feeling Happy to see these beautiful views :) Thank you for sharing these wonderful journey with us.

So very beautiful:) I love your painting, it’s great - very talented! I draw just black and white and sometimes colour but haven’t transitioned into paints yet. I will do one day.

What a beautiful area you are in! Lovely clear water, great scenery and lots of untouched nature - perfect :)

Our trip to New Zealand was some time back, but it so fantastic it feels like it was only a few months back that we were there.

wonderful pictures @artguru. for sure you are travelling in a paradise. heaven on earth i would say. look at the pictures, brilliant scenery and landscape views. the photography is outstanding. you travelled alot but the views that met with your eyes were worth it. isnt it? well yes.
The painting is another scenery and a wonder from you. it is the best about this post. when i first looked at it i thought it was one of the pictures but then i realized that it was a painting made from @artguru. absolutely sensational. looked very much real. keep up the good work

@artguru really your country travel very looking for amazing. I appreciate your new post. I like it.
best of luck with your new post.....

I'm preparing a sunset oil painting for our next blog, which will cover our ferry trip back to the north island.

Nice your traveling photography. I really appreciate your travel. I like that. Thanks @artguru

Thanks. I had such fun taking the photos as we traveled.

Nice tour story artguru. Well you have to struggle a bit to see the best. Ain't it? U walked along way and then the sight that your eyes met with was breath taking. Brilliant view. Love the natural landscapes. Attractive images. The painting is phenomenal. The creativity is just on another level. Awesome post. Thanks for sharing ☺😊😊. Keep up the good work.👐👍👌👌✌.

en asu Uudessa-Seelannissa. Mutta olisi hienoa, jos tekisimme. Tällainen suuri maa.

looking for beautiful your travel @artguru
Thanks for you.... best of luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97