Why do I travel Solo?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Don´t you get lonely? Don´t you miss your friends and family? How can you enjoy an experience without someone to share it with?

These are just some questions people have asked me in the past. Very understandable and I can relate at some level.

I have been called Lone Wolf by some nice people, I have been called weird or strange by some others not so nice.

But you see, there are so many reasons I decide to travel by myself and I would like to share with you the most important. These are not the reasons why people travel solo but I think some of you wanderers can identify with some of those:

1. Traveling solo is a sinonym of freedom

You only respond to yourself.

Every decision you make is because you are 100% comfortable with it and you are sure it is what you want to do. If you are traveling with friends or a partner, every decision you make, whether it is staying in a hostel, sleep on the night bus or camping, cooking in the hostel or eating out, that choice was made because both of you want to do that; so sometimes you have to compromise to keep the relationship or group in a happy mood. But this also means that at some points you are going to stop doing things you like in order to do things that the other person(s) want. Let´s say you want to hike a mountain but the majority of the group, or your partner wants to chill on the town, you have two options: either you compromise and chill or you go your own way and risk the other person getting mad or feeling obligated to compromise. You have to meet them halfway, but it takes away some of that sense of freedom.

2. You have an open agenda

No deadlines; no "we have to be here by this date"; no "we have to hike this mountain this day". Sounds a bit like the last one but it is totally different. Let´s say that you find a travel partner that wants to do exactly what you like so there is no compromising your own plans. You still have to find a halfway point about how long you stay in a place or when you do certain activity. 

If you have an open agenda, whether it is because you met a cute girl or you got sick of the town, you can decide when to leave the place. You are not bound to another person wanting to stay more time or leaving early, you just depend on your agenda.

3. You meet new friends, every day

If you are traveling with friends, you don´t feel the need to speak with someone, you feel secure and safe within your circel. It doesn´t matter if you travel with your boyfriend or with four mates, when you are in a group, you feel less keen about engaging in a conversation with a random guest in the hostel or this person who happens to be all alone at the beach right next to you.

It is also one hundred times easier for other solo travelers to approach you if you are writing by yourself than if you are drinking a few beers with your mates. If you travel solo, you are more approachable and appear more friendly.

It is always great to make new friends

But the most important thing about this point is, you don´t miss the opportunity of meeting great people who surely can teach you something new, you can learn from everyone you meet on the trail.

4. You don´t have to take care of people

I know, I know, I am so selfish.

Don´t get me wrong, I am not a selfish person, I have been taken care of and I have taken care of people when they get sick or injured in the trail, even people I just met the day before. But if we are cold and raw about this subject, I travel by myself in order to avoid situations where I have to change my plans because of other people. When I need to do it, I do it, but it is a lot less frequentl if I travel solo than when traveling with a friend that gets sick everytime he eats local street food.

5. You learn how to be alone, how to be with yourself

You become your best friend. As simple as that. All those lonely 4 hour rides from one town to another, the walk by the local park or beach with only your thoughts as company, that morning you couldn´t continue sleeping and woke up to no one in the hostel, those waiting hours at the airport etc. They all teach you how to listen to your inner self, to get to know you, to become your best friend. 

6. You become independent and learn to rely only on Eric (or insert your name here)

No one is going to tell that you are spending too much. The only person who is going to cook for you is yourself. If you don´t wash your clothes you´ll eventually ran out of clean shirts. Getting drunk and walking home alone at 3 am in a city you don´t know will get you in trouble. That pretty girl you fancy? No mate of yours will be there to introduce her to you. In need of a hot soup for your stomach ache? No mommy or friend to nurture you, you have to do it yourself.

You become this new person. You learn how to deal with the problems life father destiny puts on your path and you realize that, without a question, you can count on yourself to solve almost any issue that you find in your way.

All of these points have a negative side and traveling with someone has its own perks, this is just something I wrote due to a lot of people commenting about this subject on my older posts. I just want you to know how I learned to always...

Remember, Be Here Now

Sort:  

Your last words - Remember, Be Here Now
Totally agree....

Did you like them? Oh my, you are some of the few people that has told me that. I always end up with that phrase, it has become one my life rules... Have you ever travelled by yourself?

I am sure I am much older than you but I too like the solo life. I spent the first 50 years of my life living for everyone else. Compromising for everyone else. Doing everything for everyone else. I decided a few years ago it was time I did for myself. Put myself first. In general. Yes, there are still times in my life I compromise for others. I am by no means a selfish, self centered person either. I truly wish I had gotten to this point at a much younger age. I think I would have had a much happier life. I understand your thinking on this and do not blame you one bit for traveling alone. The independence you can enjoy is very rewarding and very much needed for everyone. First we should learn to live for ourselves so that we do not regret living with/for others when the time comes. I got it backwards and am sometimes very regretful for all that I gave to others, not once thinking of myself, because the kicker is, they never once thought about me. I say good for you!! Thanks for the post, I enjoyed reading it. :-)

Nice story. Thank you for sharing. Have a great day 🤗

Lovely story dear..become yr fan..pls accept me..following u

That you, I followed you too. Have a great day!

madam I want to stay in touch with u..Would u pls grant me?

Well... it is never too late! We are all in differente stqges of our lives and maybe you have learned so many things I will not learn ever. Maybe this set of mind came too early and I still have to learn a lot about giving myself to others and experiencing what you have. Perhaps when I have children or a wife I will learn all about what you say, and now that you think like me you will learn a lot of what I´ve learned... differente order, same growth, how magical is that?

I only ever went for one solo holiday and it was awesome. I can relate 100%.

I found coupons in the paper that allowed you to travel anywhere in Scotland for £5. I wanted my friends to go with me but they didn't want to commit and all. I felt frustrated with them and decided I will go alone. I took the map of Scotland, close my eyes and pointed a finger somewhere randomly. It landed on Sligachan on Isle of skye. I packed my bag, booked a hotel room and went there. It was February. When the bus stopped it turned out the place is just a hotel and mountains. Absolutely awesome.

I expected to feel a bit lonely but I didn't, not for a moment. Hiking by myself was a great adventure. I got soaked and lost and managed to miraculously catch a lift from the middle of nowhere back to civilisation. I talked to some great people, especially when hitching rides and at the hotel bar. It was heart warming and mind opening experience.

I do not see myself doing that again any time soon because I am in a very close and happy relationship. Me an my spouse love going camping together. We are pretty happy to go with the flow and improvise and I don't feel any tension between us on any of it. We are comfortable to be silent with each other. It's like being by yourself only you get to cuddle and all that. :D

I believe that being able to tune into yourself and truly enjoy solitude constitutes a fundamental step towards finding the right person to share life with. You are on a good track! ;)

There is totally logic what you just posted. You always have time for your different life. When your time will come it will come and no matter what, will stop you and then you will see the other side of your life. Explore and enjoy my dear friend :-)

Oh damn this reply notifications! I keep missing comments, i just went through a lot of my posts to see if I left something unreplied and it was one of yours :( I dont deserve this friendship anymore :( haha

Loved ur post! I really apreciate to travel all by myself!

Thank you May! Have you ever travelled by yourself?

we were born alone, we will die alone, mostly likely -- the bit in the middle is up to us, spend it wisely, enjoy and celebrate the moment.

Yes! You are so right! Life is not what happens to you, it is what you do about the things that happen to you, we decide how we live and how we spend time, hopefully we will have a lot of time to go through different phases and enjoy each and every one as we much as we can :)

Another great post! I love your mind set, you are the coolest man!🕉

Hey! Thanks for that! Are you following my posts? So nice! Have you ever travelled solo?

Great post! Thanks for sharing...

Comment signature.gif

Thank you Lina! You see, it is great that you engage with people this way, but it would be better for your succes on Steemit if you comment your opinion or give a meaningful comment in people´s blog. This is just a tip as it has worked for me, i´ve made some good acquaintances over the past 3 months by engaging with peoples content, but with a little more than a generic comment! I hope you take this the good way, my only concern is that you grow and are succesful on your Steempath :D

Thank you. I really appreciate your comment. 👍👍👍

Hey @anomadsoul , you wrote it down! I share every single aspect of your post, although I do enjoy journeys with my partner too. What you have experienced by traveling alone is of it´s own dimension. More such posts can help to convey that.
Enjoy
with lyrics

Yes! Completely agree with that statement. I think it really depends on the stage of life you are and the purpose of the trip... I would love to travel with my partner (If I had one) and share these amazing experiences with her (If she exists) oh wel... hahahaha The video was awesome pal, I just followed you for this nice engagement you did.

I totally agree. resteemed.

Thanks for the resteeem pal, have you travelled solo before?

I sure have. And it is much better than the indecisiveness of the collective!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29