Capsule Hotels Appearing in Western Airports. Would You Sleep Here?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


source

A buddy of mine told me that ten years ago, following a flight to Canada, he spotted capsule hotels in the airport. That was the first I heard of these diminutive, coffin-like lodgings springing up outside of Japan.


source

It's a growing trend however, as apparently now such a hotel has appeared in Mexico City's local airport as well. It makes perfect sense, the only shocking thing is that it hasn't spread faster.

How many times have you been laid over and had a miserable time, sleeping in those rigid airport lounge seats? Wouldn't you pay $30 or so for a full night's sleep, or as little as $10 for two hours, to avoid that fate?

Now, I've heard of airport sleep pods. These things don't really offer any privacy however, or protect your luggage against theft:


source

They had the right idea, but the wrong form factor. Human nature is such that, for the safety of those looking to sleep in an airport, it really is necessary to fully enclose them in a chamber they can lock the hatch to.

Maybe you're reading this, thinking "How can I make bank renting these to people?" Someone already had that idea, installing some capsule hotel units bought off Alibaba into his apartment, effectively subletting a single room studio unit:


source

Of course his landlord wouldn't hear of it. Can't have tenants running the same racket you are, that's leaving money on the table. They said there were legitimate reasons why it shouldn't be permitted, like tripled stress on utilities, but if the tenant is willing to pay the increased utility bill I think he ought to be left alone.

Maybe you're like me, wondering "how can I get one of those as a bed?" I'd love to sleep in one of these things. It looks like a scifi hypersleep chamber. I also feel especially cozy when closed in like that.


source

Good news, then! It turns out they're not even particularly expensive on Alibaba. Not compared to what I was expecting, anyhow. The catch is, despite them offering what appears to be single unit sales, the way I hear it because of how shipping from China works you typically have to order a minimum of 20 or so before they'll sell to you.

That might not be a show stopper if you can find 19 other people interested in buying one. That's what Massdrop is for, after all. Next you might wonder, why aren't more people going into business, opening capsule hotels in airports?

The way I hear it, airport managmenet is stuck in the past. They don't understand the use case for capsule hotels, often getting caught up in the word "hotel", not understanding it's more like a traveler's rest stop.

The reason airports don't already have traditional integrated hotels is because that interior space can generate more profits if it's occupied by shops than by hotel rooms at the going market rate for a night's lodging.

That equation changes if you can pack 10 capsules into the same space as a single traditional hotel room, however. Suddenly the financial side of it works out very favorably, it's just a matter of convincing grey haired airport owners to move into the 21st century, embracing a model of traveler lodging that's been a proven success in Japan since the 1970s.

Sort:  

😨😲 Exciting.. Looks like unable to sleep in here..

I don't think I can sleep on any one of this as I am claustrophobic. But nowadays airport lounges offered short term sleep with actual comfortable bed for like US$50 for 6 hours. Always fully booked so if one intend to use any of this facilities you need to book early.
Thanks for sharing
@jackpot

Having this capsule hotel is really a good idea for airport.

Something like this (with a ventilated, lockable, frosted hatch) would make me feel safe, warm and enclosed. Kinda like returning to the womb. Stack these puppies like eggs, and I'm good...


source

Gee, Japan dropping their weird shit around the world. First anime and sex robots, now this. 30 dollars for a box in Mexico. lol. No thanks.
But I would love to have one of those pods in my home, is tempting.

While I think these look pretty fucking cool and futuristic, I don't think I could ever sleep in one. I tend to feel slightly claustrophobic in confined spaces and I don't think I would fare very well, haha. I am surprised it took so long for these to spread out of Japan though, figured it would have happened a few years ago at least.

If I had one of those, it would save me the trouble of making a fort in my bedroom, which I keep swearing I'm going to do. I'd love to sleep in a cozy little space like that with some string lights for ambience.

(´・ω・`)

Now i wanna get a bank loan and open one of these hotels in a college town or spring break town.

I think it's a great idea but it needs some of improvements, I mean I hate closed places they had to put a guard or something like this and making it opened like the second photo.

thanks for information .....nice placeeeee😍😍😍😘😘😘😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75