Spiti Valley: Drive through World’s Most Beautiful LandscapessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear steemians,

I think a few of you might remember my recent solo travel to India region of himalayas.

Here is the a bit about of where I went

https://steemit.com/travel/@aburmeseabroad/my-upcoming-solo-travel-to-himalaya-mountains-in-india-in-10-days-but-i-am-having-mixed-feeling-201788t112225795z

And a short trip report also on here

https://steemit.com/travel/@aburmeseabroad/trip-report-on-kinnaur-and-lauhaul-spiti-himachal-pradesh-india

So I survived obviously , I also suffered from AMS , which I will write more on another post on how was the experience while I was traveling alone. But today I want to share some photos on the Incredible Road from Manali to Kaza in Spiti.

The actual distance between Manali to kaza is around 200km , but it took us around 10 hours with 2 break stops. The journey start from the dense forested hills of Manali, to the rocky deserted mountains . We traveled through water crossing and snow covered mountains.

I paid about 15 USD for a seat in a private car, I was glad I managed to find a shared car rather than the local bus. The road is only open on summer months, which are only a few months a year.

All these photos are taken from the car and I was able to capture some of the incredible beauty along the way.

The scenery starts, heading towards Rohtang Pass from Manali. Rohtang Pass is a high altitude area of almost 4,000 meters (13,120 feet) above sea level. It's by far one of the most beautiful road journey I have ever been.

Our first stop is around half way from Manali to Spiti. It's a popular rest stop with a number of tented huts that serve basic meals, tea and coffee. Unfortunately there was not any toilet facilities . Thanks god , I was able to hold until the next stop which was hours away.

The roads are narrow but the drivers here didn't drive recklessly which was a blessing. I was on the mountain roads for 10 days and many times I felt like I was gonna die. I thought Indian drivers honk so much on my first visit , but apparently drivers in Himachal do not like to use honk or slow down on blind curves.

This stretch of roads are very rocky and there are many signs to remind to drive slow. But I doubt it's even able to drive fast at all.

It's surprisingly common to find these animals along the remote road and the usual way of traffic jam in the mountains. The area is so isolated, you can't help wondering where did they come from and where are they going?


A local traveler from the same car said these mountains are very old .

The curves were never ending , but I was already pretty experienced while traveling through Himachal.

Aren't we all so tiny amongst these huge mountains ?

The car made a stop at Kunzum Pass, which is at 4,551 meters (14,931 feet).The driver made a drive around the temple and all the villager from the car went for prayers. I did a donation on one of the boxes and finally had my toilet break. The view up here is amazing with snow cap mountains.




Losar village is the first inhabited village in the Spiti Valley. We had our lunch here over looking the village. I had to register just before entering the village which was really easy .The driver collected my passport and returned back after a few minutes.


Finally , we arrived to Kaza , which is the main town and administrative center in the Spiti Valley.

Thank you for reading..I hope you enjoy it , I really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

Good to see your photos. Also good to know that you went on a bit comfortable shared car.

I have also captured almost all of these places. You would have enjoyed more by staying at the local villages near to Kaza. Did you?

thanks. I think you are using esteem apps to comment, got yourself upvotes. :)

Yes, these days I use this eSteem app almost all the time. It is quite handy to use the smartphone for commenting, replying and making short posts.

You made this post after about a month of your visit to Himachal, and in all this time you seem to have consolidated what you saw here in Spiti.

You shared some amazing photos and those views are absolutely breathtaking. You were lucky to share a private car, because the bus wouldn't be that comfortable, although local busses are always a great adventure :)

Thanks a lot, yes for sure, and I managed myself the front seat which was awesome.

Some beautiful pictures in this post. It looks like there aren't many people living in these areas. Might be tough to get a wifi signal too haha. Hope you had a good trip

thank you , yes indeed , we drove for hours without a single people on sight, I have heard biking around this regions is really popular , but there were a few landslides when I was there, hence I didn't see so many.

yeah, you need to be careful too, some of those roads don't look very well maintained

thank you.. really appreciate for your concern..

all the tiring journey but the beautiful scenery with its rocky hill and valley view if we reach the destination then be happy, I'm glad your post is nice

What amazing photos and just my kind of trip. Hope you had a great time? Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for reading . I really enjoyed the journey.

That's Great! I would really enjoy it if was taking the same trip as you :)

Good knowledge for travelling, thank for sharing.

Glad u enjoy it

this is the wonderful place, believe you enjoyed.

It is amazing but I find the weather to be so harsh.

wow, great pictures. thanks for sharing!

Thanks a lot for visiting here.

wwoowwwwwwvery beautifulll photos 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85