Traveling to Montenegro:My (failed) Climb to the City Walls of KotorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit friends,

This time I want to show you the places that I got to visit in Kotor , Montenegro. Montenegro is a Balkan (Romania, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Albania, and Greece) country .It is also one of the world’s youngest countries after the break up of Yugoslavia. Before, it was joined together with Serbia and was part of ‘Serbia and Montenegro’ until it got its independence in 2006. And Kotor is the costal city that is also over 2000 years old .

One of the activities that everyone who visits to the town of Kotor do is climbing the city wall and to the fortress. If you google the images of Kotor, almost all the photos you see would be taken from the top .

Can you see the jig jag routes that are Kotor’s fortifications up to the Hill?

Since it is such a popular location, the climb won't be that bad right? I was wrong, especially during the hot summer months that I had visited. The climb was steep and rocky . It apparently has 1355 steps but I didn't count it myself how many steps that I was able to make it.

Just a few minutes from the Old Town, and we could see gorgeous views of the Bay of kotor , which look like the fjords , and the towers of the town’s Cathedral .

We started the climb from the walls near Kotor’s North Gate .After passing through the old town narrow passage ways, you will find an old man waiting with the umbrella collecting the entry fees. There wasn't an official booth or anything .. It didn't seem they are using the money to maintain as the paths were pretty bad . From there , we continued to climb up the walls upwards.

I am not a hiker and never had done any fitness activities in my life. So it was definitely hard and challenging. I was making occasionally breaks. Finally arrived to one of the viewpoints along the way . The red roofs of the old town and the harbor was breathtaking .

But it seemed like it was still a long way to reach to the very top. Since I was already out of breath and felt like dying with the heat.So I just decided to enjoy the view from here only. I mean look at that, it wasn’t that bad afterall ..

!steemitworldmap 42.421936 lat 18.774841 long My (failed) Climb to the City Walls of Kotor, Montenegro d3scr

Thank you for reading.let me know in the comment of what you think, I really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

Check out my other Switzerland Travel articles here

Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

I don't blame you for not wanting to keep going haha it looks like a rough walk. Anyways, you still got to experience the amazing view!

Thanks.. the time that we had was short and I felt like even I could make up there, I would not be able to stay there at the top for long, so no point the torture.. hehe

haha true! Especially if you still had more traveling to do, it would've been tiresome.

That is nice. I wish I can do that.

Kotor is very beautiful place , hope u can visit there one day.

Wow, what a lovely place to be at! Thumbs up!

Thank you, it surely is.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=aburmeseabroad
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-failed-climb-to-the-city-walls-of-kotor-montenegro


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The views are stunning, well worth the climb! Hope to do it too one day : )

I m sure you will . Thanks well worth the half climb.

Thanks for the post.

Amazing view. Too bad you didn't make it to the top, but you got a nice view on your way :)

Congratulations @aburmeseabroad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You would be one of the lucky.
you can have to visit every where, have Language skills,also everything complete.

Another fabulous post. I'm enjoying reviewing them for the #traveldigest (which you get an honourable mention in today).

thank you so much.. really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76