Transferring funds out of Poloniex: an experiment

in #transfers7 years ago (edited)

I read that many people are having trouble transferring currencies out of Poloniex. Things are either very slow, or don't work at all, so they said.

So I did an experiment.

I transferred 1 ETH and 1 Dash from Poloniex to Kraken. The Poloniex fees for this were 0.01 ETH and 0.01 Dash respectively.

I then started biting my nails, but things weren't as bad as I expected.

The Dash arrived at Kraken within 3 minutes, the ETH took 7 minutes. The Dash was untouched, I mean that 1.00 Dash arrived at Kraken, but only 0.99928 ETH was put into my Kraken ETH wallet.

I didn't try BTC; my last (high-fee) BTC transaction took 3 hours to first confirmation, and I just can't be bothered anymore using BTC for funds transfers.

FYI: I trade currencies for Euros on Kraken, and use a SEPA transaction to put the Euros into my bank account from Kraken. I suppose this works for all SEPA countries.

As always with this sort of experiments: YMMV.

Sort:  

I did my first transfers this morning via poloniex I transfered in 50SBD, sold it to BTC and then transfered it into my online wallet. bearing in mind it's the first time I've done this and was triple checking every move it was all done within an hour and the transfer into my wallet took only a couple of minutes.

You transferred BTC from one wallet to another in minutes? You have the magic touch! 8-)

I sent 0.1002 BTC from Exodus wallet to Poloniex and after 2 weeks and a support ticket I haven;t gotten my btc or a response from Poloniex. Exodus CS was spot on , quick and helpful. they really care. I'm switching exchanges.

Poloniex is about be recieve, if it hasn't yet, a class action lawsuit dealing with insider trading and fake hacking the system type stuff.

Poloniex is hurting internally.

I need a new exchange but i don't know where to go, I like the Poloniex interface best of the ones I tried.

Nice to know it worked. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87