You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #ToVeganOrNot - Explain Why You DO or DO NOT Eat Dead Animals & "Animal Products" (Comment Contest: 20+ STEEM in Prizes)

in #toveganornot6 years ago

Well, I DO live in a third world country where vegetables are insanely expensive and fruits are like 1/40th of my salary so I might have been influenced by that. You do raise a fine point on one ground that I failed to account for: evolution, it's true that we have changed our teeth and bone structure to adapt and maybe it's correct to say that we've evolved to avoid the need for meat, I truly didn't account for that.

Morality is subjective, I do keep tidy morals and I am emotionally empathetic, but that doesn't mean it's the same for everyone, I can keep these kinds of morals due to the upbringing I've had, sadly not everyone can grow in an environment such as mine. And no, no carnivore can kill an armed human, I wasn't talking of raw strength, humans are at the top due to intelligence, not physical capabilities.

I suppose you've made a wider research than I if you can affirm this: "In morality & principles, we are required to be consistent, which is the thing mostly missing. Cultures around the world all agree that it's wrong to kill & eat animals, they just make different exceptions based on their historical practices. This isn't being principled or moral, it's low-level sociopathy." If this is true I don't know whether to be happy to see that the world is less of a bad place than I thought or to be disappointed by our sociopathy, just like people consider drinking beer a social ritual. I do hope that this point becomes something in our modern era.
Well, on the economic scale, it's not a small amount of time & water, please don't lie to yourself like that in order to keep things short. It DOES take time and effort to cultivate big terrains, I've carried sacks of potatoes, I've spread fertilizer over kilometers and it's HARD as HELL, I will admit that I would prefer to do so anytime over killing animals, though, but not because of the work involved, but because of my morals. Keeping a chicken or pig here in my country is very common and it's very easy to do; cultivating grounds isn't. On a purely mathematical scale, however; yes, it SHOULD be cheaper to do mass cultivation than mass animal keeping but I don't have the numbers to support that statement.

And I'm sticking to my point on convenience, though it may be influenced by my reality, I won't deny that. I'm a fruit lover, I just LOVE eating apples, pears, pineapples, mangos, nuts, blueberries and other kinds of fruits and juices made of these fruits; but getting good, tasty fruits is hard (at least around here), in contrast I can just buy a slab of meat and toss it in a frypan and it's ready for eating. I spoke mostly of my own experiences, but when I visited Mexico I saw that you can buy packages full of fruits for acceptable prices, so I might be wrong and it might just be a representation of how things work in my country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78