When Theatre and Betting Collide: And I Don’t Mean Vegas

in #tonys7 years ago (edited)

I’m talking about the Tonys. Airing this Sunday, the Tony Awards ceremony marks one of the biggest nights in Broadway, where theatrical productions are awarded and extremely talented performers strut their stuff. It’s a great show, and as musical theatre grows in popularity among the general population, more groups are becoming invested in the turnout.

Just a simple Google search of “Tony Awards 2017” will bring up several articles about predicting the winners. Sounds like betting to me!


This banner and Eva's photo are courtesy of http://www.tonyawards.com/en_US/nominees/index.html?promo=gsm

However, there is one performer that I would have placed a bet on years ago. See, I went to middle school with the star of the Miss Saigon Broadway revival, Eva Noblezada. She was always a talented singer, and I constantly fell into the trap of comparing myself to her. After all, I had dreams of Broadway, too. While music wasn’t really my forte, it was clear that she was the biggest triple threat in school.

34998095612_9949bdcd86_m.jpg
Eva Noblezada's professional headshot and a headshot from one of my recent photoshoots.

As easy as it would have been to hate her because she had what I wanted, I actually had a positive relationship with her at the time. I was in class and in plays with her. She was there when I learned how to put on eyeliner. One time after lunch, I was hanging out in the bathroom like a cool middle schooler when she came in, saw me, and complimented me by saying that I was so pretty, I should become a model.


This is what I looked like at the time. How she saw model potential in me at this awkward stage is a wonder.

I wasn’t surprised when, years later, I heard that she had graduated high school early to join the cast of Miss Saigon. I would have bet money that she would end up on Broadway someday. Now, she’s in the running to win Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical. Even if she doesn’t win this year, I have no doubt that she will someday.

Since middle school, I’ve realized that though I love musicals, I prefer being in front of the camera. It can be tempting to compare myself to her, but I have to remember that we’re both just people following our dreams. I’m still working on reaching my personal success, but I like to think that she would have bet on me in my career path, too.

xo,

Cecilia

Sort:  

Yup... I went to musical theater school and switched to film very quickly there after. Nice headshot by the way :-)

Thank you! Have you been able to connect with other actors and filmmakers here so far?

@ceciliakeirstead, no I haven't. Actors are not usually early adopters, especially when it comes to technology. I told a friend in the fashion industry I was leaving facebook for Steemit yesterday and he said "Goodluck with that." I've been in the industry for over a decade and as each year goes by I become more and more out of touch with actors who are just getting started.

I admit, I probably wouldn't be on Steemit if a family friend hadn't told me about it. As far as leaving Facebook for Steemit goes, I don't think it has to be one or the other. Before Steemit, I used multiple social media platforms and I still do. And I think that a lot of actors just getting started aren't in touch with industry professionals because networking can take time. You always make a bigger impression when you meet someone in person, anyway!

Yea. There really is a need to have better actor meetups in New York that do not involve casting directors and paying for classes.

In Charlotte, there's a Carolina Film Community meetup group. That's where I was able to meet most of the film people I know and the agent that represents me now. There are small membership fees, but it's mostly based on giving film people the chance to network and show their work, so there's little pressure and it's not as expensive as classes or showcases.

Love it! I went to East Carolina :-)

Oh really? I have some friends who go there now!

That's awesome you went to school with Eva!! I've been watching clips of her on YouTube. You were and are stunning Cecilia, no wonder she saw you as a model :) Can't wait to see the Tonys....Hoping for "Dear Even Hansen" to win :) Please blog more of this!!

DEH is the show that most of my theatre friends are rooting for, too. It's one I would love to actually see live, and I'm so excited to see all of the performances on Sunday!

So cool you have that memory of Eva. Maybe one day she will tell everyone she went to school with Cecilia! ;)

That would be pretty cool :) I have a lot of friends who are performers, so we're always joking with each other to "remember me when you're all big and famous." It's fun to see that one of my former classmates is doing so well.

Good luck to Eva at the Tony's! She has done well in her career so far. Everyone moves at their own pace. Maybe its best just to compete against our self and try to move forward every day. Keep following your dreams, and Steem on!

That's the plan!

Congratulations @ceciliakeirstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62