20 tips that got me an IT promotion

in #tips7 years ago

 11 months ago I almost quit my IT support job with a large Accounting  company. Jay, the owner of Dumb Little Man, and my best friend, told me  to list 25 things I could personally do to get ahead. I was skeptical  because I seriously hated this place but I made the list because I had  nothing to lose but time and I didn’t want to start to job search. I couldn’t come up with 25 so we settled on 20. He then tweaked it a  little saying that it was too easy to fulfill. Anyway, I took the list  and posted it on my cubicle wall. I read that damn thing every morning  when I got into the office. To this day, I still have it practically  memorized.  Last Friday, I was promoted and I actually moved up 2 spots so I am now earning an extra $15K year. Kind of nice if you ask me. Here are the missions we put together: 

  • I will work and think as if I were the SVP of my IT group.  This will include how I interact in meetings, with co-workers in the  hall, etc. This will train me for the future. 
  • If I ever decide I don’t like the company I work for, I  will still act like the SVP because that is the position I want. I will  not become a complaining, gossiping troll because my reputation will  follow me. 
  • I will look for areas that my company fails. One day I will fix that failure by starting my own company. 
  • I will be the guy to speak out with new ideas in meetings.  If it’s going to save money or increase revenues, I will never be out of  line. 
  • I will lead others and show my strengths because someday I may want these people to work for me. 
  • I will finish everything I start. I am not going to mentally bail on a project. 
  • I will shut up and listen when I don’t know 110%. 
  • I will study new trends so I am the guy with the good idea. 
  • Regardless of what my boss says, I will review myself each  month and then ask for help where I need it. My company can train me so  that I can move on. 
  • If they ask for 132 TPS reports, I will do them. One day I  may ask an employee of mine for similar reports (even though it’s  repulsive to think). 
  • I will speak my mind in the face of rejection when I am confident that my idea is a winner. 
  • I will know how competitors do things so I can suggest better solutions in meetings. 
  • I will not bend to process bureaucracy. If the customer needs it, we have to figure it out. 
  • I will learn as much as possible about the roles people play in my company. One day I will have to fill those roles. 
  • I am able to recite my 5-year goal at any time. 
  • Resume builders are nice but I am pushing for seminars that will train ME. 
  • I will dress more professionally then the rest on casual Friday. 
  • On internal conference calls, I will ask questions. Not  dumb annoying ones, but questions that pertain to the company’s EPS or  EBITDA. 
  • I will be in the office before my boss’ boss 90% of the time. 
  • I will leave the office after my boss 100% of the time.

A lot of Jay’s list irritated me but in 30 days things got a  helluva lot better. In retrospect, it wasn’t the job making me upset, I  just had an ego problem – I felt like I was better than everyone else.  After I followed through on my list, I proved I was better. I know a lot of you may call some of this ass kissing but I was  pretty blunt in these meetings and it wasn’t my boss that promoted me –  it was his boss. The job was never even officially posted. I am now a  firm believer that leaders are winners. This list is coming with me  wherever I go. Take it or leave it.  

Sort:  

well done! did you take Jay out for dinner to thank him?!

yeah i will take on dinner to thank him

Congratulations @salmanbahadur! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48