Wrong Ways To Launch Your Steemit Brand.

in #tips7 years ago

IMG_4860.JPG

Do you even know that your account on Steemit is actually a brand you need to consciously nurture and model in the right direction? It's a representation of you and what you stand for. The part of you people get exposed to. The part that speaks volumes in a pretty short while.

Feeling The Need To Treat Steemit Like A Regular Blog.

Over time, I've seen people come on here and because of the types of blogs they've been exposed to, instantly start to create "article like" posts that do nothing but push me away anytime I venture to read them.

I believe Steemit is a hub for sharing stories with a personal touch. Stories here don't mean just fiction but talking about your subject of choice with a human feel to it. Instead of seeing Steemit as a place where you just put out information for the sake of it, treat every post as one you expect people to react to and interact with. Give them a reason to drop a comment.

Treating Steemit As A Dumping Ground.

Due to the fact that many creative individuals have made home for themselves here, plagiarism is strictly frowned upon. You can't expect to build your Steemit blog on copied materials. Truth is, even if you're successful at this for a while, you can lose your entire reputation within seconds of being caught.

It's a lot better to publish two original content in a week rather than publishing a dozen copied material. Don't you think so?

Spamming Other Users

This is a big no no! At best, you'll get ignored. At worst, you'll get flagged.

Instead of spamming every post with the same generic comment begging for follows or votes or resteems, why not take your time to really read the few posts you can and then drop thoughtful comments without asking for anything in return.

Building relationships this way helps you establish stronger bonds with people and there's a greater chance you'll begin to benefit from them following you rather than if you had begged your way.

Bribing Your Way To Relevance

Recently, I've seen new accounts offer SBDs for upvotes, resteems and follows.

As a new account, your first task should be to create an amazing introductory post that endears the heart of your readers. Agreed not everyone will follow you but all you need to do is keep your head and continue to put out awesome content.

There's no reason to be in a hurry. Offer the world an amazing treat and watch us all flock to you.


I'm an advocate for community growth and interaction. My posts are amateur attempts at sounding smart. If you like them, you could upvote, drop a comment, and resteem for your followers. 😉

Sort:  

Really great advice for branding and bloggers! Understanding the intricacies of the platform that you are using really makes or breaks your brand. If you don't get it right it can feel like you are banging your head against the wall. Upvoted and resteemed. Tips like this are awesome and really helps build the community.

I couldn't have said it better! Thank you 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fisteganos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I completely agree with you.

I've been on Steemit for almost two weeks now, and I've seen what creating high quality content can do for someone, content that really matters to you.

I think Steemit is an opportunity for people who not only want to make money, but for everyone who is interested in creating content for others and interact with other people.

I guess everyone has their own strategy to succeed on this website. Mine is to create posts that I consider to be decent or even above that, and post them here, without expecting nothing in return.

Apparently that worked well until now, and I can say I am grateful for the rewards I received from the community.

Great post, I really liked it, I hope more people see it and start creating more valuable content without expecting nothing in return, instead of trying their best to make money.

Best of luck!

I also joined Steemit with that mindset as I had previously been writing for free on Medium, Twitter and Instagram. I believe it helps a lot to not expect anything monetary in return.

Instead, we should seek to expand our creativity and presentation and then grow our audience. It's why I focus on interactions as a way to find fulfillment.

Nailed it, mate. As this site grows, and people start unfollowing, competition for eyeballs is going to punish pulp.
Great attitude. Following.

Thanks for the honest straight up guidance which will benefit those who are new like me :) Slow and steady as I have learned over the past week is the way, there is no short cut.

You can pivot on your brand ,but you are right Spamming is a big no , no!

The best always seek ways to get better so yeah pivoting is very acceptable!

I think steemit gives us that chance to be honest and develop some community with others. The entire world seems to be getting less connected to relationships. Hopefully real, thoughtful, idealistic articles become the norm here over time.
Thank you for saying what needed to be said.

Good advice Fi. Your first point's the one I'm struggling with. I'm used to writing academic-level articles, and I'm trying to pass on the wisdom of my research here. But I feel that long-and-dry will alienate, whereas short and plain-as-pie might appear, even inevitably become, superficial. So I'm trying to find the balance.

Personally though, I would prefer it if steemit could also become a hub for serious scientific, philosophical, and other kinds of articles and discussions, as that's the thing that mostly turns me on!

Yeah like i always tell people, with time everyone will find their own corner of Steemit. When there's a million users, the tendency to find a large community interested in what you have to offer will be a lot higher than what's currently available.

It's why we should all push for the growth of the community!

I'll start spamming all my acquaintances :P

Awesome post and awesome advice @fisteganos ! Thank you for your time and effort, and for sharing your view with us.
I genuinely find it helpful, and in return, you just won a daily follower :) You have my full support !
STEEMIT Comment.png

BOOM! I'm glad you found it helpful. Thanks for the follow too. Hopefully i'm able to keep being useful 😉

Excellent suggestions for Steemit users.

Spamming is never a good thing. Nothing good can come out of it. People get annoyed and your name (account) will soon get a bad name.
Investing time in reading, commenting, upvoting and resteeming will benefit everyone in the long run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99