Time is flying by… do you still remember me

in #time6 years ago (edited)

My dear Steemian friends, why did 4 days go by without posting? Because everything is speeding up – time for a rambling post.

Time is flying by causing me to get the day wrong, not the date the day.

This happened at a coffee shop, this really old lady told me if I keep that up her brother would have me put in a nursing home. Sounds like they have a good relationship.

Blogging interests

After sharing my many interests with my friend @janton says I am over qualified for blogging. There is no way for me to narrow down my interests found here in this comment

In a day job setting that spells death. After thinking about it a while this is not a job, it is more of an experiment. We my friends are the lab rats steem cheese keeps us happy. Don't deny it I am in he maze with you looking for the cheese of happiness.

ci8fnc7f96.jpg
source - unsplash Hannah Gibbs

A closing story

Some things on earth are strange like flying squirrels and flying fish and bats. We don’t ever really think about them since they are kind of creepy.

We have bats in Lincoln, Nebraska. Everyone knows bats fly, here is the problem. Most of them have rabies here and some people find bats in their homes.

True story as told to me by a friend

His friend was asleep next to his partner. He thought she was tickling him. He pulls back the sheets and there is a bat in bed with them. Oh yes, they got nipped by the bat and went to the hospital. Since the bat tested positive for rabies the shots started.

Moral of the story: Stay away from bats.

Proof with our newspaper headline

8 bats test positive for rabies in Nebraska, including 7 in Lincoln
One of those bats was his friendly bed bat.

Imagine the horror of finding one of these under the sheets in your bed.

8u3r614ym3.jpg
source-unsplash Tine Ivanic

This story is my first Halloween real report.

I may report the neighbors this year to the authorities, you will never believe what they do.

Also we have a great idea for costumes this year.

cmspo3f5hf.png


ucgnmd3k5w.png
Recently received this for my 2nd year Anniversary in Steemit.

This post created with #esteem created by @good-karma


rr54q1novy.png


Thank you for reading,
@rebeccabe


Made by - @rebeccabe

Sort:  

Lab rats for cheese.... I did a study in college with rats and chipmunks. The thing was comparing the difference between the two in regards to cognitive mapping and value. Rats are smart enough but chipmunks transitively infer value of one food source or another.
Curious to know where or how you assign value to a given posting or comment?

Comments are the tastiest cheese for me. I go through many mazes to find the best place to comment.
Most steemit test subjects (sounds nicer than rats) value the upvote most. I would have been long gone if that was my case. LOL

You are a science guy, science is one of my many interests. It has changed my life.
I am a Texan, born and raised.

Squirrel and sugar, some kind of names for Cats...saw your post.

So chipmunks are smarter since they make a choice? They are cuter too. @spozone lol
giphy-1.gif

The study we did showed they make choices as to value of a food source. Meaning one, they can count, two, they calculate and assign value to source (a) over (b) or (c). Although (b) or (c) may have more seeds in in them (a) gets replenished regularly and therefore has a higher value for long term survivability. Better / easier to just go back to (a) and cache those, then go find the huge storehouse if it is still there. Clever little creatures.
Side note: We had to omit data from one chipmunk as he inadvertently took a long trip down the vacuum hose and possibly received a concussion when met the air dam at the end of the long dark tunnel of violent wind. Oops....
Poor little guy, he survived OK but did look a bit dazed for a good 10 minutes or so.

Poor little guy he should have gotten an extra treat. :)

oh, that was painful
But yes, looking looking for the cheese and they keep moving it!!!
But more disturbing is a bat in bed with you....

I know right haha!

haha! howdy again rebeccabe! Your analogy is so correct, this is a grand experiment and we are the rats looking for the cheese..brilliant!

Wow bats are creepy as scorpions! maybe worse sense they carry rabies. I wonder what causes bats to like Nebraska, does anyone know?

And what do your neighbors do that may get the authorities called on them? That sounds like a whole post of it's own, that's a great teaser.
great job, love this post!

thanks Jon Boy .. What they do should be outlawed. I will do a post even if they don't. Something is wrong with them to think of this display. Yes it is a teaser. lol

I think I could handle a scorpion before a bat.. bats are big... I don't wnat either.
The brown recluse spider is probably the worst. @janton

howdy again rebeccabe! That post about your neighbors sounds like an interesting one!
The only good thing about having scorpions is that spiders are their favorite food so we don't have spiders! lol.

both are creepy .. yes those neighbors are strange..

Although I think bats are absoulutely adorable, I can say that I wouldn't want to find one in bed with me....that would definitely freak me right out - I don't like getting bit and surely don't want rabies....uggghhhh.....!!! I feel bad for the homie that got bit and needed those shots :( Yikes...thinking about the pain of those shots creeps me out enough to stay just a little bit farther away from bats (not that I get real close, because I don't, but I do so enjoy when they come out at night). I remember when we were younger my brother and I used to put a few small rocks in a sock and toss it in the air trying to get one of the bats to grab it hahahah....looking back it wasn't the best plan LOL but it was fun) <333

We're all kinda lab rats of life, aren't we? ;) I am loving this grand crypto experiment @rebeccabe - it's awesomeness feeling my way around the maze with BeautyFull Souls such as you SiStar <333

ps...before I go...what do they neighbors do? I am quite curious

This is more than you write in your posts. LOL just kidding around.. I agree except there is NO Way bats are cute.. ... You played with bats as a kid? I ran from them. haha

@thereikiforest check out this post and hear a pet bat make noises.. lol scroll to the bottom video
https://deals.weku.io/community-deals/@rebeccabe/time-is-flying-and-time-to-post

Congratulations @rebeccabe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Time is flying by causing me to get the day wrong, not the date the day.

Ha ha. Although that has happened to me as well. Life is hard. ;)

I'd like a little more cheese if it's available.

Ok, that's super creepy that there was a bat in their bed. Even worse that it had rabies. Glad they're getting treated so they won't get sick and go crazy.

I was trying to insert an image from The Office with "Michael Scott's rabies awareness fun run for the cure" or whatever it was called. None of the images would link properly.

LOL I bet it was a good one.. I found a funny gif and tried to put it in discord...the bot said it was harmful or something like that and would not let me post it.

Many things from The Office are humorous to me. It's kind of risky since some people don't like it, but I figured I'd give it a try. I was able to find a GIF, but it's not a great one. It will have to do though.

That's strange you couldn't upload your GIF. It must have been really offensive for the bot to censor it! Ha ha. ;)

well it starts out looking like a child is drowning but he is not... let me see if I can put it here

giphy 6.14.59 PM.gif

Kids are great they can go from total panic to oh my ear itches. lol

Ha ha ha! That's so great! I like how the person standing right next to the kid isn't doing anything so someone else has to run over.

Yes, kids have the ability to change their emotional state very rapidly. I think we lose a bit of that as we become adults.

I noticed the same thing with someone standing there. They were probably laughing and then someone was taking photos to boot.

I think I will do a post on this gif now that I know I can load it.
Should be fun.. I will tag you then. Be later today.. leaving coffeehouse now.

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.222 which ranks you at #2638 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 2653).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #145.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I would love to know what your neighbors did!! Hahaha

well don't know if I have any photos from last year.. they will be decorating soon.. let's see if they do it again.. either way I will let you know then. :) It has to do with their decorations.

Oh, okay... hahaha...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16