Spending mindless time on Social Media and Internet Browsing

in #time2 years ago

These days I have realized that I have been spending some more time than usual mindlessly checking these social media sites. I know it is not a healthy practice and I need to control myself on this stupidity. In general I am seeing that we are getting so much hooked up to these mindless scrolling on social media sites and they are so luring taking away our precious productive time.

Reels on Instagram keep us hooked on. I enjoy watching reels on travels, home decor, and lifestyle but then I am observing that I am spending more than necessary time going through these reels. Especially at night sometimes when I do not get sleep, I watch these reels. Yes they do give some good ideas but then time spent on it is also important to be considered. Why is that we are getting more and more hooked up to these social media sites, what drives this behavior?

We waste countless hours. I guess if a calculation is made then in a week, it must be equal to a day's time that must be going into this mindless internet browsing. In general also I observe that we keep checking our phones for messages. I normally keep my chats on silent mode as these whatsapp groups become nuisance whole day, and sometimes when I am relaxed I keep checking my phone like once in every 15 to 20 mins.

image.png
Source

What I have been doing nowadays is consciously not using my phone, checking it once in 2 hrs and at night putting it on flight mode. Also this habit of checking the phone first thing in the morning while waking up, I wanted to break that. This is quite some time that I have been doing it. I keep my diary with all my affirmations next to my bedside. When I wake up in the morning, I pick that up very first thing and say my affirmations, which also remind me of not using the phone much.

Our mobile phones have become an addiction; our lives revolve around it, so much time we spend on it. I sometimes think that there was a time in our life where mobile phone was a luxury and now it is a necessity. For every single thing we turn towards it. Our calendars are feeded with information on our phone. Birthday reminders, camera, emails, social media interactions, using all different apps, it just goes on and on, and we are like chained to them forever.

In my city in the last couple of months I have been observing that the numbers of cell phone towers are also increasing. This really gets me worried. I visited my friend's place last month, her home is in a very beautiful location, it's near the beach side, and next to her home is a cell phone tower. When I saw that I told her, how she could take a home so near to the tower, but she was ok. It did not bother her much. She was enjoying the beach views more than bothering about the cell phone tower. Which shows that people are not bothered about the health effects that it brings. Anyways it's everyone personal choice, but then after that I have been avoiding visiting her place.

image.png
Source

It's just not about the time. It is also about the health. Whenever I am spending more time on my phone or laptop after that I start feeling sluggish. This mindless mobile phone time is making us slaves to technology. If we realize this, trust me it is also a difficult task to keep away from it. It really needs lot of efforts. It is a choice that we need to make, how productive we want to be in real life then being productive on a gadget.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Sort:  

Reels on Instagram keep us hooked on.

So, the reels on Instagram is some insanely well-designed feature. Especially with the new update which lets you effortlessly scroll to the next reel is what makes it so damn addictive.

It feels a lot like every social media app took advantage of TikTok's absence in the country and made it very easy to get users hooked on their respective app.

And I feel it just reads my mind and brings forth what I want to see. Seriously insane
Another point is that everything is so glamorous and fun there and I really wonder do the same people really live like that in real life as well.

Haha. Yea. It looks more like the algorithm considers which reels you watch completely and also which you end up hitting the like button on. Then ends up serving you more reels with similar tags is what I'm assuming.

Exactly mobile technology and the internet have become an addiction or a syndrome from which it is difficult to escape. You have to try to maneuver in that spaceship so as not to get lost in the Internet space. We have to think about investing enough time with common sense and make our dedication productive. Greetings and have a happy day.

We are becoming slaves of technology losing our own mind to think and act. When there were no internet times if we would get lost on a road we would use our judgement and navigate our way, but now we have google maps to blindly follow and get us to the spot. It is definitely convenient but we do not realize that we have somewhere blocked our mind to use our judgement and think. This is what Internet is doing to us, follow blindly like fools and become it's slaves

Excellent my dear and respected friend

Best work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82