You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts from a Swimming Pool | The importance of Perspective

in #thoughtsfroma5 years ago

We all judge others as you say, based in the intel we gather through the five senses. It's ingrained in us to do so going back to when we had to make a decision to fight or flight back in the caveman [read: Neanderthal] days. It's a more complicated thing these days though and we add in a healthy dose of prejudice often, which is where people go wrong.

That's where perspective comes into play as you mention.

Take me for instance. I shoot guns. Does that make me a redneck? A mass-murderer? Maybe, maybe not. But a person's perception based on the small snippet of information they have garnered will become their reality. Smart people have the ability to adjust their perception when new intel presents itself, or the ability to not pre-judge based on small amounts of information. Others do pre-judge and proceed with the premise they formed. Maybe guns are a small element of me and I'm many other things as well, but some may never take the time to see, to gain a better perspective.

I was raised not to pre-judge, went through a phase of being judgemental and fortunately broke myself of that habit. Finding perspective has been instrumental in my growth as a person and the ability to understand (at least as much as possible) prior to judging.

Good post mate, and a nice spot to find clarity of thought.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88