Midnight window

in #thoughts6 years ago

I am trying to fix my sleeping patterns a little so went to bed early. I am writing this from bed... After a few minutes, my wife kicked me "in her sleep" and now I am wide awake. It is after one, not midnight.

These are about as close to a shitpost as I can bring myself to do but still I hope they have some value. I asked someone last night whether there is value in a poem I may write and they answered that they find them self-reflective. That is good because that is as intended as I think thoughts shared have value and can mean vastly different things to people.

I try not to judge content because of this but I do think perhaps a little too much about if what I post brings some value to the community. Each piece may not suit each person however. I see it kind of like works of art from an artist where even though some might not find each style valuable, they can connect with some works.

Value comes in many forms though, it isn't just the Steem. I hope that I have occasionally brought some new ideas in that have evolved into other ideas and perhaps also, some different perspectives. I find that people who are regulars in my comment sections are also the better of the engagers on platform too. The people who really post and engage well is a pretty narrow band of users..

There is value in supporting discussion and although I don't get to all, I hope that people are generally satisfied with the replies I give. I would still be appreciative if more people engaged with each other in the comments. I think that can always improve and it is a very good way of developing relationships.

People might be trying to effect their User Authority score by targeting larger accounts but I think that the best way is to do it organically over time. Engage with engagers and soon it will be a strong core group with decent network support. There are many ways to approach Steem life, explore as many as you can.

Anyway, sleep beckons to me. I will lay on the edge and hopefully avoid the worst of the flying feet. For a little girl, she sure takes up a lot of room.

Goodnight.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

I like your point of view, the interrelation that we do here nourishes our mind in different ways of seeing the world. To those who believe that there is still goodness in the human being, networking and knowing cultural aspects of other countries happens to be a gift. I'm satisfied with that exchange, that's why I'm looking for people from different places.
With regard to writing poetry, I like it because I am full of details of how other people feel about the great issues: love, death, loneliness.
It is worth continuing.

Hi taraz. Get a bigger bed. That will teach you for sneaking of and not doing your quota for the day lol.

That will teach you for sneaking of and not doing your quota for the day

lol.

ours is 160cm and my wife is only 154 tall. Seriously, how much room does she need?

By chance have you ever read Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance? I've been following you since early in my Steemit adventure and much like the protagonist in that book you spend a good deal of time wrestling with value/quality, what it is, how to create it, etc. I thoroughly enjoy reading what you write, even if I don't engage with you about it all that often.

Speaking of engagement, does it ever seem to you like much of the engagement is one sided? Much of what I've came across seems to consist of compliments and wordy expressions of agreement (I may just be looking in the wrong places though). Nothing wrong with these but how much value does it add to a discussion?

Good luck with sleep and dodging flying feet!

By chance have you ever read Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance?

No, sounds like an interesting book from the title though :)

Speaking of engagement, does it ever seem to you like much of the engagement is one sided?

It depends on objectives of participants but because people are hoping for reward, they tend to flatter or go easy. However, it is actually more 'face to face' than the BS screaming and false adversary course of most of the internet. Keyboard warriors aren't generally bringing solid arguments, they are screaming their opinions.

It is a rather intriguing book and makes for some pretty good mental exercise.

because people are hoping for reward, they tend to flatter or go easy

Very true. I was thinking of the negative reinforcement with downvotes but the possibility of reward probably has even more effect. I'm not lamenting the relative lack of keyboard warriors and the higher degree of politeness that comes with that, just that discussions can often take on a bit of an echo chamber aspect.

Do you suppose that the ones who could bring solid arguments and actually have civil disagreements simply don't because there is no incentive and little likelihood of reward?

"my wife kicked me "in her sleep""

LOL The Murphy's Law of changing sleep patterns seems to apply to you, dammit. Hope you get some rest.

"I hope that people are generally satisfied with the replies I give"

Very much so. The fact that you give replies at all is impressive, and they are always helpful or engaging or both.

Hope you don't get kicked again. :)

Very much so. The fact that you give replies at all is impressive, and they are always helpful or engaging or both.

I find it crazy that there are people here earning well but don't take the time to reply to some of their followers r, only the ones who have a wallet behind them.

Hope you don't get kicked again. :)

2 straight hours.

Lol am surprised you could write this well while sleepy eyed. Am usually incoherent when sleepy and if am forced to write my words will make about as much sense as a Kindergartener writing college research

Writing sleepy takes about 1.5 years of practice... when did I join Steemit...?

I will lay on the edge and hopefully avoid the worst of the flying feet. For a little girl, she sure takes up a lot of room.

¡Watchout! she won't stop right there. :D

wouldn't be the first time :D

I do believe your posts have value my friend. I for one have gained a few ideas. After reading your poetry. It has inspired me to consider some different thoughts and ideas to the Poetry I write. You've also offered refreshing perspectives on life. For that I'm grateful. What you put into cement and what you put into others is what you get out of it. Blessings and thank you

I am hoping that by adding thoughts into a collective people, there is a chance to mix and match topics and perhaps, someone will create something great from it :)

Explore and try. Thanks for sharing.

You got a 51.22% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19