Day 125: Five Minute Freewrite ~ Wednesday-Prompt: Cinnamon~ Original Photography and Five Minute Freewrite ~

in #thosebearfootedcinnabons6 years ago (edited)

P1560608-2 172kb.jpg

Is That Sweet-roll In Your Boots, Or Are You Just Glad To See Me?



Five Minute Freewrite: Cinnamon


“D, wake up, I think there's a bear outside the tent!”
I rolled over in my down bag, half dead to the world, wondering what in the world my friend Brillo was babbling about in the dark. All too soon, a shuffling and schnuffling noise erupted outside the tent, a few feet from my torso.

“It's a BEAR”, I whispered.
“What was your first clue, Sherlock?!"
“What's it want?”
"I don't know, why don't you ASK it?”
My heart was racing.

My buddy's voice cut into the night air...”what's that smell? Like a cinnamon roll! You bring one into the TENT? Where'd you get a cinnamon roll?"

“No, it's my socks.”
“Your SOCKS?”
“Yeah, I sprinkled cinnamon in my socks.”
“WHY!?”

“You're always going on about putting red pepper in your socks, to keep your feet warm while hiking in the woods. I didn't have any pepper, and my feet were cold. I figured some cinnamon might work. It tastes good on toast, and heats up my mouth. Why not my feet?”

I could sense Brillo staring at me in the inky black, shaking his head in dis-belief.

Mr. bear was now schnuffling around closer to the end of my bag, just outside the rip-stop tent.

I whispered again, “throw a Power Bar out the front zipper-door, maybe he'll head around that way and…"

Dumb old timer anyway...

~Finto~



Thanks for stopping in and viewing my third Five Minute Freewrite. If you have any thoughts about spicing up your under-things, bears in your tent, eating late at night when you shouldn't be, the art-form of the short Freewrite, or or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.



Here is the link to the post about the Five Minute Freewrite, put on by @mariannewest:
[Day 125: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday- Prompt: Cinnamon]





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 02/22/2018 @ 10:10



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 38

DONE 5 minute freewrite cinnamon Skipping again.PNG
NOTICE: This reply was written after Cat Facts started to repeat his/her self

Sort:  

Oh! I'm really glad to see you again (in the photo)....after very long time.

It's very exciting story! I would like to know at the end whether the bear can find you or......

Have a great day, GFF! ;)

Too funny, I love your ....
I'm still here, so this particular Mr. Bear must have wandered off on his own. (I am not a good bear-wrestler, or at least don't THINK I am. That is not a theory one can test on a repeatable basis, with non-positive results in the negative ( :
Hope you have a most wondrous day and night as well, GFF

Ha ha! It's always fun whenever you told us the stories..... Um! I'll try to not think that you are..... ;))

Have a pleasant day and night, GFF! ;D

If the bear was so attracted to cinnamon, why not give it the socks. Where they his only pair?

You have to be careful about starting bad habits. You know, give him a sock, next thing you know, all the bears in the county are visiting every tent they see..."hey, look Bruno, a tent. Bet there's some tasty hosiery inside". Wouldn't want to be accused of starting something untoward in the bear departement.

True. You can't be too careful not to interfere with nature when it comes to bear feet!

Another cliff hanger, drat you clock!

I'll finish it for you.

I whispered again, “throw a Power Bar out the front zipper-door, maybe he'll head around that way and…"

"No, Man, That is a woman's workout nutrition bar, his masculinity will be offended! He'll head straight in the tent to portray his bravado and manly prowess"

It was a woman's workout bar slipped into their snacks by a well-meaning wife.

They could hear the sound of the reading as the bear looked at the Luna (tm) bar...

He entered the tent.

They died.

The cinnamon scented leg went down nicely with a cup of hot coffee from the thermos. The bear dipped the cinnamon-socked leg into the thermos lid with the panache of a construction worker with his morning donut.

That dratted little silver, digital clock...never let's me finish my thoughts. (I used to use a huge darkroom timer to tell me to "get up now", from writing, to keep me from turning into the dreaded moss-covered chair sitter. Thing scared the hooey out of me whenever it went off. Not I use either a nice, red light that blinks quietly on a timer, or a little, QUIET electronic timer. SO much less 'jangly'.

I just *schnonk-ed on the "they died" part above, as well as all your other creative end-letts. Too funny. Thanks for the mirth. Luckily, my appendii were not pulled off and used as a stir-stick, or other joyous end results displayed above. Though I've read many a Luna bar in my time. Nothing like a bit of philosophy before snacking. (Do they still do that, haven't had one in a while).
Well, I hope your day is shaping up well in the fun and efficiency department. I've heard that second part DOES happen ( :
Keep on keepin' on the Steemit

*(Schnonk-ed: One of those schnort-nostril-klank types of utterances of humor reaction, similar to the gutteral badger growl at the bottom of a long, deep den from above. A very odd sound).

ahhahahahaha my friend had a lot of fun while reading!
my husband read it loudly last night and we had a lot of fun :)
I appreciate that for you :)

Thanks, so glad you enjoyed my little story. And it made you laugh. Seems to be my main motivation in these things. Hope you have a nice weekend.

There are certain rips, tears and lacerations a rip-stop tent can't cope with, you do know that, don't you?

I thought that was what the 'rip-stop' was woven in for. Extra strength...??

It has its limits. May I suggest a chain mail tent? It's great for trekking in bear-infested forests when the other guy carries it.

Ha haa. Good idea!!! Though I must find more hiking friends. Sounds a lot like a 'one and done' sort of hiking thing.
I do have a friend who had to carry his huge PUPPY out of the wilderness years back on one of our trips. Dog ate tons of road apples and other dead fish and things on the first 2-3 days. Got so sick, he couldn't walk. We had to parse and carry all my friend's gear and he put the dog in his backpack. My pack was quite heavy, think his wife gave me the heavy stuff. I really should do a post about that one some time. I have the pictures of a huge golden just sitting up in his pack looking about as we hiked all day to the car...

"I should have thought of this earlier". -the dog

Ha haa. Good idea!!! Though I must find more hiking friends. Sounds a lot like a 'one and done' sort of hiking thing.
I do have a friend who had to carry his large PUPPY out of the wilderness years back on one of our trips. Thing ate tons of road apples and other dead fish and things on the first 2-3 days. Got so sick, he couldn't walk. We had to parse and carry all my friend's gear and he put the dog in the backpack. I really should do a post about that one some time. I have the picture of a huge golden just sitting in his pack as we hiked..."I should have thought of this earlier". -the dog

Wonderful story and also funny actually very funny I laugh a lot that my wife asks me what is up... meanwhile your friend is perfect... Instead of a pepper cinnamon... :) really funny.. :) thank you for your story to make me laugh at night... Have an excellent night my friend....

So glad you both enjoyed the 'night out with Mr. Bear'. Glad it can give you some entertainment. I hope you have a nice day today as well.

Very good! I like it and my feet are always cold so maybe I need some cinnamon!

What could be better than smelling like a sweet roll and having warm feet. Well, maybe also eating one out of the toaster over at the same time.

Hi, I'm new to your blog, I saw you in the sandwich contest, I see you write, you do it right, as well as cooks I like

Hello, thanks for stopping in, and the nice thoughts. I appreciate it. Glad you like both the writing and my cooking. Though that second one is a bit suspect....I'm not much of a chef, except odd sandwiches ( :
Going over soon to check out your blog. I have to go shovel snow first. Yee haaa. Have a nice day.

Hahahaha... at least you didn't sprinkle cinnamon in your underwear, I suppose, that would be even more terrifying. I bet you woke up to no more socks and shoes or maybe just a really confused and hungry bear! ;)

Also, I’m here to deliver the prompt of the day! Freewrite #126

@byn

I think that might be a bad idea. Then again, probably WOULD warm one up a bit. No, Mr. bear did not get my socks. They're too valuable ( :

Is That Sweet-roll In Your Boots, Or Are You Just Glad To See Me?

You cracked me up right off the bat, just as intended I am sure. :D

The story had me giggling too, you're good at these free writes.

I pretty much strive for seriosity on most of my posts.
Glad you enjoyed it, getting a snicker is always worth a whole lot. Thanks for the compliment, they are fun, these freewrites. I highly recommend them for a daily 'do'. Even though I never quite get to doing them daily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30