The Unmentionables: An incredible community on Steemit that I am proud to be a member of!!

Today I'm doing a bit of a different post because I have recently found what, in my opinion, is the best, warmest, most welcoming, easiest to join, and most helpful new group on this amazing platform.

I've got something to tell you.jpg

Every once in a while something comes along in your life that you just know you should be a part of. A big, BIG one for me was Steemit. I still remember the day I joined Steemit, I was watching a youtube video and the youtuber (@lukewearechange if you are interested) started talking about this new blockchain based social media platform. It sounded really intriguing to me, so much so that I immediately paused the video, searched out Steemit, created an account and got myself started.

amazing.jpg

Yeah that's right, I didn't even bother to finish the video, sorry Luke! I did finish it later though ;)

You see I have this thing: I was around when Facebook first started, I remember the first time I was told about it, when I first set up an account, I didn't really care, didn't see the potential. I remember the same for Twitter, Youtube, Instagram, Snapchat, all of them, but I just didn't see the potential.

blew it.jpg

Funny thing is, over the past few years we have built up a modest following on Instagram, just over 5,000 followers, which really isn't very much but we actually book paying photography jobs from that instagram account quite a few times a year. Who would have thought right?? This photo posting app for your iPhone eventually started paying us and making a huge impact on our business. If only I'd jumped on Facebook, and Twitter, and Youtube back in the day, who knows where that could have led...

next time.png

So I made a promise to myself that the next time I see a new social media, new technology, new "thing" that I can see getting really big, I'm gonna jump on it, like NOW. So that's what I did when I first heard of Steemit. It was really exciting, I was thinking to myself "Maybe I got in early enough for this one!!".

Ive done it.jpg

Well my Steemit ID, or account creation number is 65,086, not exactly ground floor if you ask me, but I'd say first floor for sure. Just over one year and 8,550SP earned later and I can safely say at this point that I think I found that "thing". Steemit is growing every day, it's an exciting thing to be a part of and part of that growth are emerging communities full of amazing people.

Now we get to those communities. You see a little while ago I came across something here on Steemit that gave me that feeling again, it was an amazing group called The Unmentionables, which was started by an amazing person called Panda, @fatpandadesign, or that's what he goes by anyhow. He is an incredible person with an incredible story who has created something truly incredible in The Unmentionables. When I first heard of the group I immediately dropped everything and went to join, I even went as far as delegating some of my SP to their upvote bot because I honestly believe in what they are doing.

thebest.jpg

Now I know you may be skeptical, I was too. I am in fact a VERY skeptical person, and it often helps me, but also holds me back. So instead of just going all crazy and promoting The Unmentionables the second I joined them, I decided to be my skeptical self and just hang back a few days, watch what went down, how the group worked, how much it was growing, and what they people in it, around it, and behind it are like.

Skeptical.jpg

In a nutshell The Unmentionables, besides their hilarious name, is an amazing group of people on Steemit. The Unmentionables is more than just a group of people though, they are creating a platform that benefits all Steemians, especially minnows.

By becoming a member you gain access to the group discord channel which also gives you access to their exclusive post promotion area. The rules are a bit different though, because the channel is designed to give more than it takes. The way this is achieved is that in order to post your own promotion, you first need to upvote and engage with at least two previous posts. That way everyone is actually giving more than they receive, but here's the thing. If everyone gives more than they receive, then everyone receives more than they give.

Inifinite.jpg

Do you see how this snowball is growing yet? This group is collectively building up not only every member, but the whole platform. So if you are interested in the future of Steemit and seeing this amazing place grow, you need to get in there and start adding to the snowball!!

Along with the post promotion area, we have an entire group dedicated to mentoring and helping new users grow. Have you ever wanted to know what the secrets to creating engaging and upvotable posts are? Well we can help you get there, just join the channel and ask one of the amazing mentors.

If you think that sounds pretty sweet (it is) come join us on Discord here: https://discord.gg/7kYYrw9 and become a member of one of the fastest growing, most amazing groups on Steemit!

do it now.jpg

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to drop one of those sweet, precious, juicy upvotes on me! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with all of our travels and see new original content every day.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Really very cool post and knowledgeable love it

Hahaha This is a very interesting post. Information is power, steemit is empowering. I like being here.

This makes me feel like an outsider because I do not use discord and don't plan to. I wish there would be a way to participate without chatting and if there is, please publicize it.

Otherwise good luck with your project and please resteem cool posts so the rest of us notice them too :)

Congratulations @dexter-k! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 12 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

hehe that's an amazing post :D

It is a great community for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85