100 DAYS OF STEEM: 10/06/2020- MY 14Th Diary Game || Small Needle Work - Sewing A Duster For My Kids

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Steemians & Diary Gamers!,

IMG_20200610_143521_290.jpg

Today in my Diary Game, I decided to show my skills in sewing using needle. This is one of my skills I've quit for long time, but my kids have requested me to sew a duster for them very long time in this lockdown period. They keep requesting since it has become vital for them to use to clean their small chalkboard whenever they finish learning. I see this as a simple activity to finish within a short time, then why do I worry myself to buy on the market or give to seamstress for additional cost, while I can use my psychomotor skills to complete it for them?

I needed not to buy any material to start sewing this duster, since I have some of these simple tools. I remember in my each age in basic school, my Home Economics Teacher taught me how to do stitches or this simple needle work, and encouraged us to have some of these simple tools at home when some small part of our clothes are torn we can repair them. So I was having some simple tools like: needle, tape measure, pencils and thread. So, when I decided to sew this duster, it was very simple for me. I already have all the materials, what was left was to assemble them. I got some tattered cloth somewhere, I just gathered all the materials here:
IMG_20200610_125818_197.jpg

Elaborated process of how I succeeded in sewing My Kid's Duster:

First, I cut some part of a piece of my old cloth using a pair of scissors in into rectangular shape as displayed here:

IMG_20200610_131036_780.jpg

To have the required size of how I wanted to make the duster, I have to measure the length and width. I measure the length to be 26cm and the width to be 20cm.

IMG_20200610_131154_768.jpg

I quickly marked out all the sizes measured using HB pencil as shown here:

IMG_20200610_131318_399.jpg

I had to finally cut all the marked sizes made with the pencil to fit the shape I wanted to make with the duster. I did this withing few seconds with the help of my pair of scissors.

I folded the length which is rather longer into two equal parts and began the stitching it together with the help of my needle and the thread. I first sewed the bottom of one end, and finally extended to the longer part - now the length of the duster. My kids were very good at this point to help me fastened the cloth together.

IMG_20200610_134234_836.jpg

I sewed all the two ends leaving where I will pack or fill with some tattered clothes. I first turn the inner part to make the outer look nice like it was sewed with machine. I therefore packed the rejected cloth inside until the duster was finally filled.

IMG_20200610_134615_789.jpg

I finally sealed the other end to make it complete with the help of my needle and thread.

IMG_20200610_142739_534.jpg

I have now completed the whole duster. It just took me not more than 45mins. If not my kids who were disturbing I would have used only 20 mins to finish the whole sewing of the duster. Now, my kids will no longer complain, they can now have a nice duster to clean their chalk board as you can see in this display.

IMG_20200610_143537_457.jpg

IMG_20200610_143607_979.jpg

I hope you will find this post very useful. You can also try some of these simple activities at home when we are less business, instead of giving to someone to charge us, while we can finish it within short time. Thanks for joining me here in this Diary Game post.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Thanks for your support, all the Steemit Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71