The Diary Game (6/25/20): A Historic Day for Liverpool Football Club

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago

Intro

Greetings Steemians! If you want to read about my EPL/FPL exploits (in addition to my daily activities), then you've come to the right place. Let's get to it then!

My Day

I woke up at 10 like usual. After I got up, I browsed Reddit and Instagram for a bit, until I texted with a friend I hadn't spoken to in a while. We talked mainly about BLM and other political current events, but I won't go into anymore detail for the sake of her privacy and to remain uncontroversial.

At 11, I did my daily round of emails. I first started with a message to my former AP US Government teacher because I was really excited to share how my US Primary Elections predictions turned out. I had to do an activity for her class around February where I picked which candidate of the Democratic Party would win each US state/territory and how many states my predicted leading candidate would win. Attached below are pictures of how my predictions turned out (assuming that Joe Biden wins out the rest of the states/territories whose primaries haven't occurred yet).

image7.jpeg

image6.jpeg

My second important email was to my college academic advisor. For context, I was able to schedule almost all of my first semester courses during my advising meeting last week except for MATH 231 (a 2-credit course that is essentially the first half of Multivariate Calculus). The Math Department at Penn State will not let me schedule the course until they receive my Calculus BC AP score (which will be released on July 15th). The reason I emailed my advisor is because spots in the course seem to be taken up at a pace of around 1 spot per day, so I am worried that I will not be able to schedule the specific section of MATH 231 that I want and will be forced to enroll in the 8AM section. Anyways, my advisor responded around 20 minutes after my initial email. She called the Math Department to double check if they could make an exception for me, but they didn't budge. However, she reassured me that all non-freshmen students at Penn State had already scheduled their courses, which means that there will most likely still be a spot open for me in my preferred section once I receive my AP scores because MATH 231 is typically a class for sophomores and juniors rather than freshmen.

I ate my typical breakfast at 11:30 and watched TwoSetViolin's newest Youtube video. They took a 2 hour music theory test in 30 minutes and then compared scores. You'll have to watch until the very end to see if perfect pitch boi Eddy Chen or perfect pizzicato boi Brett Yang did better. Here's the link:


(TwoSetViolin)

After breakfast, I showered around noon. When I was done showering, I brushed my teeth and did the rest of my morning routine. Once, I was dressed, my mom and I took an inventory of my clothes to see what I needed before I head off to college in late August. I have only 13 t-shirts and 9 shorts that we deemed "college appropriate" in terms of fit and style. I am not worried about buying more t-shirts because I am an adult large, but shorts will be much harder to shop for because I am very slim. Seriously, it's an annoying problem that I am 5' 10" but only weigh 110 lbs. and have a 26" waist size. Question for my readers: do you have any recommendations regarding where to purchase shorts online for a very slim and tall person like me?

At 1, I queued up the TV to watch the Burnley (BUR) v. Watford (WAT) EPL game. To be honest, I wasn't really that interested in watching a defensive mid-table side in Burnley face a relegation wary team in Watford. Around the 20 minute mark of the match, I decided to take a walk around the neighborhood with my dad. I repeatedly asked him during our walk where he wanted to take a picture until he finally decided to take a picture on a traffic roundabout. See if you can understand the irony (dad joke) in this image:

image5.jpeg

After returning home from our walk, I had a turkey sandwich on sourdough for lunch and watched the second half of the match. It ended in a 1-0 win for Burnley, with the winner being a sweet diving header scored by forward Jay Rodriguez:

(Burnley Football Club)

At 3:15, my brother and I watched the best match of the day: Chelsea (CHE) vs. Manchester City (MC). The result of this fixture was extremely important to Liverpool (LFC) because if Man City tied or lost, then they would win their first league title in over 30 years. American phenom Christian Pulisic opened the scoring in the 36th minute after a nice solo run. The funny thing about this goal is that Pulisic only got the ball after two MC players accidentally ran into each other. In the 55th minute, MC midfielder Kevin De Bruyne (KDB) scored the equalizing goal from a glorious free kick into the top left-hand corner of the net. The game was pretty even until the 77th minute, when MC defender Fernandinho intentionally handled the ball on the goal line to prevent a Chelsea goal. After a review of the incident by the Video Assistant Referee (VAR), Fernandinho was given a red card for an intentional denial of a goal scoring opportunity, and MC were awarded a penalty kick. Brazilian winger Willian stepped up to the spot and converted his kick, making it 2-1, which was the final scoreline. Match highlights:


(NBC Sports)

I forgot to mention that my brother is a Man City fan, so needless to say, he left the room after Willian converted from the spot. The prospects of 10-men City scoring 2 goals with around 10 minutes left in the match seemed pretty grim, so I don't blame my brother for leaving me to watch the rest of the game alone.

At 5:15, I started my workout. Today was my cardio-only day. I ran 3.09 miles total on my elliptical machine. During my workout, instead of watching Youtube on my phone like I normally do, I turned on NBCSN's post-match coverage because it showed the reactions of fans, players, and coaches regarding Liverpool's first English league title in over 30 years. Coach Jürgen Klopp, team captain Jordan Henderson, and defender Virgil Van Dijk were each individually interviewed, and it was amazing getting to witness their raw emotions and candid responses. I highly suggest watching Klopp's interview:


(Sky Sports Football)

At 7, I had dinner with my mom and my brother. She made a new recipe for us, which was Asian rice noodles with ground chicken, carrots, bok choy, and onions. Like all of her home-cooked dinners, it was absolutely amazing. For dessert, I finished the remnants of the Trader Joe's chocolate candy pieces.

image3.jpeg

After dinner, I hopped onto my laptop to buy Tabletop Simulator off Steam since it was 50% off. I can't wait to play it with my friends in the future!

image2 (1).jpeg

During my online game purchase, I chatted with @rasmuffin for a short time. I wanted to make sure I was buying the correct version of Tabletop Simulator. After he verified that I did, he tried to coerce me into buying GTA V as well, but I didn't give in. I try to prioritize the use of my time each day and feel like that game would not be a good use of it.

A little after 8, FPL finally updated the overall rankings. Here is an update on how I fared this matchweek and so far this season:

image1.png

image0 (1).png

Anyways, thanks for reading. No EPL tomorrow (sadly), but I promise, I will update you all with the exciting activities and adventures that tomorrow entails. Until next time!

Sort:  

Very good Diary post I hope you get some more eyes on it.

@stever82 thank you so much! I definitely have put a lot of time and effort into my daily diary entries, so I am hoping that they gain more traction

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06