The Diary Game (6/23/20): A Cancelled Day

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago

Introduction

Hello fellow Steem users! Before I begin, I want to give a shoutout to @cmp2020 for introducing me to Steemit and the Diary Game.

My Day

Like usual, I woke up to the sound of my smartphone alarm at promptly 10. I had a really weird dream about my maternal grandmother criticizing my clarinet playing and breathing technique. I was really confused when I woke up. Anyways, before I actually got out of bed, I played a few rounds of a quiz app about the UEFA Champions League. The format is a 5-question round head-to-head match with another user. Each question is multiple choice with four options to choose from. Like football, a win is worth 3 points, and a draw is worth 1 point, but you also get one additional point for each question you answered correctly. Apparently, I have 919 total accumulated points and am ranked 606 out of 47,294 players, but I promise I'm not addicted; I'm just relatively knowledgeable on the subject.

Around 10:45, I stopped playing the app and had my typical breakfast of cereal and a glass of milk. After breakfast, I did my morning routine in preparation for my workout. I do weights every other day, so today was a cardio-only day. I ran a little under 3 miles on my elliptical machine, which was slightly less than yesterday because I was probably a little fatigued from working out on consecutive days. My workout, which included my core exercises, stretching, and cardio, took around an hour, and afterwards, I took a shower and changed my shirt. I forgot to mention yesterday that I bought brand new ASIC workout sneakers, which are a really nice fit that I am enjoying so far.

image2[185].jpeg

image1[184].jpeg

Today, there were two EPL games, both of which I watched. The first game was Leicester City vs. Brighton & Hove Albion. I had two FPL players, one defender and one midfield, on Leicester, so I had an important stake in this match. I almost had a heart attack during the 12th minute because Leicester's right fullback (RB), James Justin, clumsily conceded a penalty kick. Luckily for me, Leicester's goalkeeper, Kasper Schmeichel, saved the penalty kick from Brighton striker Neal Maupay: https://twitter.com/NBCSportsSoccer/status/1275479435114930186?s=20 (NBCSportsSoccer). That was the most action that occurred over the course of the game as it ended in a 0-0 draw. The defender on my FPL team got 8 points total, including 4 points for the team's clean sheet, while the midfielder only got 1 point because he came on as a substitute after the 69th minute.

The other game of the day was Tottenham Hotspur vs. West Ham United. It was a largely uneventful game too until the 64th minute when Czech midfielder Tomáš Souček scored an unfortunate and bizarre own goal while defending a corner kick:

(NBC Sports)
The game was pretty much over at this point and was wrapped up in the 82nd minute when Spurs striker Harry Kane scored after a through ball from teammate Son Heung-min led to a one-on-one with the West Ham goalkeeper:
(NBC Sports)
I didn't have any invested interest in the game since I had no FPL players in it, so I was able to enjoy the match as a neutral for once.

At 6:30, I joined the rest of my family for dinner. Tonight was pasta night, and my mom made a delicious Baked Ziti. We also had the brocoli left over from last night's meal in addition to green beans. I really appreciate my mom making family dinners six days a week because she has to deal with both my and my brother's separate special dietary restrictions. Anyways, the Baked Ziti was amazing, like the rest of my mom's home-cooked meals.

image0[183].jpeg

Today was a rather uneventful day for me due to multiple lost opportunities and cancellations. I wanted to take a walk around the neighborhood with my mom after the end of the Leicester vs. Brighton game, but we decided not to since it was over 90 degrees (Fahrenheit) outside. Starting at 5, I was supposed to watch episodes 6-8 of Avatar the Last Airbender (ATLA) with @rasmuffin and two other friends, but the two other friends couldn't join us for different reasons, so we decided to reschedule to hopefully tomorrow. The worst cancellation of all was being rejected by my mom. I asked if she wanted to play Yahtzee after dinner and she initially agreed, but she later flaked on me so that she could watch a show on Apple TV with my dad.

Today was mostly a lost cause due to multiple cancellations out of my control, but at least I got to watch more EPL, which is never a bad thing! Can't wait to detail my day for the next few weeks. Until tomorrow!

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22