100 DAYS OF STEEM : Day 60 - Monday Challenge - My Local Health Service

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago

Greetings steemians!

image.png
Image source

It is said that Health is Wealth. I have been lucky so far that I were never hospitalized but, other members of my family were not so lucky.

My Local Health Service

I live in a small city. We have private doctors and private hospitals but, they are too expensive and also their integrity towards patients is doubtful. They do everything to flatten the bill of the patients. They try to make people fool and also recommended unnecessary tests, treatment and even they don't hesitate to operate a patient if they found that the family of the patient is rich enough to empty their pockets in order to save their beloved one.

One hospital had almost killed my mother

My mother was suffering from inflammation of abdomen. She was taken to a big private hospital in my city. At first they administered some medicines but, her condition became worse. They they advised to admit her. First they admit her to a normal ward and then to an emergency ward. Later her condition deteriorated. So, they admit her to intensive care unit. We were in the hospital for almost a week. They could not diagnose the cause and effect of the illness. However, they gave her high doses of antibiotics. The doctor was saying that she had pancreatitis and also her organs were not working. So, I decided to take her to some other hospital. However, I could not find a suitable hospital as beds were not available in the desired hospitals. Finally, my cousin found a hospital. We were eager to take my mother asap but, the first hospital was not ready to discharge her. I had to literally fight there in order to take her away. I also had to spend a lot of money on her unfruitful treatment. In the later hospital, I had to spend a lot of money too but, they treated her well and saved her life. Though, it was later diagnosed that she had a mild problem in her stomach.

Condition of healthcare in my country

From my experience, I can say that the health facility is not good in my country. Lots of people have no healthcare facility. They have to go to unskilled and unqualified doctors. Medical insurance facility is not available to many and even after medical insurance, people are not paid full amount of the treatment. They have to try hard to avail the insurance related treatment.

Condition of government hospital is worse. In my over populated country, there is too many patients but, only a few doctors. Doctors in the government hospitals have not good facilities. Corruption, mismanagement and ill treatment kills lot of people every year. Doctors have to see hundreds of patients everyday. It takes weeks and even months to get appointment for operation in government hospitals. This is also true during the outbreak of Covid-19. Nothing changed dramatically. Doctors are complaining about not having enough resources and facilities while patients are also complaining of the ill treatment. Lots of things needed to do in this field. Though, government have a medical insurance facility for ordinary people but, its reach is limited and also corruption has marred this scheme heavily.

This is the sad part of the healthcare facility in my country. However, overall treatment is less costlier in India compared to the world. Every year people from other countries visit the big private hospital of India in order to have surgery and treatment. Also, alternative medical facilities like ayurveda and yoga with natural care treat millions of people every year. India is also considered a country of medical touring. So, we are a country of extreme contrasts. We don't have facilities for poor but, we can treat people of other countries.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

स्थिति का वर्णन सही किया है ।

Dhanyavad Shashi ji. Ab Steem par automatic voting fir se start ho gayi hai. Maine apko include kar liya hai.

I read you and it seems like a report from my country, we have exactly the same problems. Stay safe and protected. thanks for your diary

Governments have left people without help in some countries. Venezuela was suffering much earlier than the corona outbreak.

The crown has not affected Venezuela like in other countries, we have been in quarantine since March 13 and people wear face masks and gloves even inside their homes. At least I haven't come out since the beginning of the quarantine and the social isolation that I think helps. So far 20 deaths have been reported, I just hope people still don't trust. Although I know it is already causing fatigue, we must remember pests like the Spanish flu that lasted 2 years. And it was during the relaxation period that there were the highest number of infections and deaths.

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30