The Best Gift Ever | End of the Year Thanksgiving

in #thanksgiving5 years ago (edited)

The Best Gift Ever


images.jpg

1


This is the first time in a while I don't know where to start writing. For the past three days, in fact, I've considered in my head about a thousand different ways of starting this text. And not once did I find any path that I could consider in the least bit, satisfactory.

It is, of course, due to the significance of what I'm about to write, I know that. Never have I set out to write anything as important as this.

I wasn't satisfied with all those beginnings because I was scared they'd fail to convey what I want to pass across. Not neccesarily that they won't say it--they will--but that they won't say it with the depth and severity with which I want them to be said.

So I've decided the best thing to do is jump into it and write, in the simplest way possible; as simply as it can be said, THANK YOU! Thank you!

Gratitude can be awkward. Especially when overtly stated. A less overt acknowledgement, perhaps in the form of a display of significance of the gift or gifts received, might be even more resonating.

So with this post I intend to show how significant the gift that was given me is. Or rather those gifts are.

Diverse as they are, both in substance, race, location etc, they all have a couple things in common: they are all extremely beautiful and they all gave me the very basic, very fine confirmation that the world simply isn't as I thought.

Now before I go into them, I should point out that it's easy to confuse the gifts as the attributes and the attributes as the gifts. For instance up there one might think the confirmation I mentioned was the gift. No. It is merely an attribute. The real gifts will be listed below.

But first, I have to take care of the ambiguity.


THE AMBIGUITY: Steemit


I name steemit in this case as an ambiguity because it is at once a gift and an attribute. And it is the only one that is at the same time a gift and the gift giver. Itself, it was given to me my brother @golddeejay, and consequently, it gave me all the other gifts whose significance I seek to acknowledge with this post.

Which is why I've chosen firstly to acknowledge its significance and wonderful ambiguity. Steemit is a gift I'd ever be thankful for. It came to me at a very dark time, and the extent to which it brightened my thoughts are unbelievable. So if I havent said it, thank you again @golddeejay.

Now on the main gifts themselves, I list them all below:


THE WONDERFUL GIFTS,

in order of appearance


@debbietiyan, @whatamidoing, @vanessahampton, @hiddenblade, @zoexantelamv, @full-measure

you're all wonderful, wonderful gifts and you mean the world to me!

I had already planned to write an equivalent of the Torah only on the topic of just how much meeting you have impacted my life. But since, like I mentioned above, the point now is not just gratitude but to show all your signifance in my life, I'm only going to settle for just telling you how amazing my year has been just because I met you all.

All the viccissitudes, the challenges, the ups and downs, crest and troughs, depression and elation mean nothing! Nothing when I look back on the year. No single event or group of events, euphoric or cataclysmic, mean a thing compared to the significance of all your presence in my life.

I love you all! More than words can say.

(which of course is why I'm being so inarticulate.)

This little text can't even begin to explain just how much you all mean to me. I wrote it merely out of a crazy urge to articulate, no matter how vaguely, and record a piece of thought in an immutable medium.

I have no idea what I'm doing with life at the moment (or what the bastard is doing with me.) I have no idea where I'm going or what this next year has in stock. All I know is, no matter where the britch takes me, I'm glad it will do so with you guys in my life!

Hopefully 2019 will be an even better year. And if I somehow still manage to have you all as friends at the end of that year, then I consider it mission accomplished already!

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Now let's go kick ass in 2019!


Also do check out @rasamuel's external blog if you have the time. Cheers!


Sort:  

Thank youuuuu

I love youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu❤

Me toooo

❤❤❤❤

Aaww happy new year! May you find your missing pen this 2019 and start working on your shit!! You’re one of the greatest thing that happened in my 2018 as well. Thank you rassyyy 😍

I agree he needs to write more 😏🙄😵 … idk why he doesn't, wtf rassy 🤔

I will I will... I'll write - the new bible. Bible 2.0😎😎

😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

  • fuck the pen ;) 😂😂

what a gift you are to the world man 😃.. you're def a gift to me too, such a gift

this is beautiful and touching and makes me smile so much. honored to be your friend!!

great end of year message and happy new year!!!

😢😢😢 you rock bro! Thank you for being awesome! Happy New Year bro! 💖

Have a great 2019! Let it be filled with opportunity and getting shit done!

Getting shit done sounds purfect!! 😎 glad I met you bro- the one cat who time travels and games like crazy!!!!

For we know not 2019 will bring. But definitely, we are sailing it like we did previous years. Happy New year, brother.

Thank you! Thank you! Thanks for being a part of 2018 bro! You're the reason @golddeejay brought me here so indirectly I have YOU to thank.

Better 2019!!

I'm glad to have you here. I love the way you write. You touch every part of your feelings. From the mundane to the mighty, the tangential to the core. All blends well to produce every piece you've ever written

Posted using Partiko Android

Our Oga was here.

Hehehe.. How far now... Been a while baba.

Posted using Partiko Android

😢😭😭 Thanks so much, bro! Means a lot coming from you!!

Then you did this ...

Gratitude can be awkward. Especially when overtly stated. A less overt acknowledgement, perhaps in the form of a display of significance of the gift or gifts received, might be even more resonating.

And now I am feeling awkward reading this beautiful post.

You know I can never enjoy the blockchain this much without you here...you inspire me like many others with your writings (though headache inducing at times) and dedication.

And yeah...get shii done. You know writing is the only task I trust you with.

now I am feeling awkward reading this beautiful post.

😂😂 I know right!

Thank you, brother! Let's break a leg in 2019!!!

<3 ! You got a handle on this. It's a collaborative effort, the inner world and the outer world! I will try to stay in touch more!

Hello @rasamuel! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @rasamuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31