Should I finish watching this season of Taboo?

in #television7 years ago

Steemit community I need some help.



The look of the show is really cool.

My wife and I have been watching the FX television show Taboo. We were attracted to the series because it is created by and stars Tom Hardy. We have always enjoyed his work so we figured we'd give it a try.

We are also both fans of "weird" shows and this one appeared to fit that bill. In that area, it has not disappointed.

Taboo is a dark and mysterious period piece set in 19th century London. When the show begins, the main character James Delaney has returned home from Africa in order to attend to his family's affairs after the death of his father. While in Africa, Delaney apparently experienced something supernatural. Although I have watched six episodes, I'm still not quite sure what that "something" is.



Delaney is pitted against both the Crown and the big and bad East India Company (neither "big" nor "bad" are used sarcastically). The plot has to do with land ownership in the New World (America) and gun powder... I think.

That is really all I can say... because I have no idea what the Hell is going on in this show.

During each 82 minute episode, nearly nothing happens. It seems the majority of the time, Delaney is dramatically walking from one location to another. About five episodes in, he must have gotten tired because he finally got a horse and started riding from one location to another.

Typically, I would have rolled my eyes and turned off a show filled with so little action. However, Taboo is unique.

The music, costumes, and characters are all really cool. Tom Hardy may be the most dramatic walker I have ever seen. Whenever he starts walking somewhere, I always turn to my wife to make fun of the scene... but I never fast forward. Its weird. Its almost like I am being hypnotized by his gait.

taboo walking v4g 2.gif


I was completely fine with this show until episode six. There was nothing wrong with the episode. Actually, the reason I am considering giving up has nothing to do with the episode itself. When the episode ended, the big voice over guy appeared to inform the audience that their were only two episode left before the season finale.

The Season Finale?!



One of the reasons we began watching the show was because we were under the impression that it was a one and done series. We thought the entire story would be told over the course of its eight episodes. I was preparing for the series finale.

As soon as I found out that I'd have to sit through at least another season of Delaney walking and riding from location to location, I thought to myself, "Do I want to sit through two and a half more hours of this just to have to wait for a possible payoff a year from now?"

I could handle the dreadfully slow pace for one season... but for two? I don't think I can do it.

Has anyone out their watched the entire first season?

Should I bother watching the final two episodes?

Does anything actually happen?

Of the final 164 minutes, how many are spent watching Delaney move from one place to another?

Am I the only one who made it this far?

Image Links 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

if you watched the other episodes then the last 2 worth a lot, they are the best and you finally get to see what happend why how who are killed and what maybe is gonna happend in season 2 so i suggest to check the remaining 2

the last one has a fight too

Perfect! Thank you for helping me to decide.

it will cost 5$ i accept food too

Do you accept gun powder?

sent it as a gift in a letter then i dont have to pay taxes

I like all series except for final one which disappointed me totally. It's as Stanislawsky during the rehearsals stood and shouted "I don't believe!"
Sharp contrast with all previous.

This is helpful. I will temper my expectations.

Your posts really crack me up LOL
I thought to watch this show after they released the season finale. (sometimes, i let an interesting show to end so I can binge watch during weekend).
Now, i am second thoughts. I really dislike cliffhangers otherwise i would be watching telenovelas. duh

i think its worth it, its really different from the other series and the final 2 episodes are really good. If you expect to see fight and battles all the time then dont see it, its more like a 3-4 size strategy battle with the goverment,the protagonist(or you may say the ''people''), the biggest company and protagonist inner demons and you get to see how its size deals with it and think of so its pretty different than the normal ones that you just send and army and its all over

I forgot to say that it may be a 2 season but by the end of the show its like that story or chapter closed, you dont have many missing points that need to be answered

just followed you. i watch a lot of tv serials too :P let me see the trailer again and then i will make up my mind about this show.

you are series junkie too? :P if you decide and checked it out, tell me whether you liked it or not, i will be there

certified and licensed series junkie. lol

I don't watch it and your comment made me LOL @thebluepanda LOL

Funny stuff right there.

Thanks! I am actually going to give them a shot and report back.

I didn't think it was too bad. In some ways it kind of felt like a Victorian era Sons of Anarchy... We'll see where it goes.

I still can't figure out exactly why I like it but I do. I am going to watch the last two and report back.

Mreh... I've been watching it and it's cool but... it's not really that great. I really dislike how un-interesting Delaney is.. I know he's supposed to be dark and mysterious but he is so un-personable that I just don't really care about him or what he wants to achieve.

The other characters are a bit better, I thought.

Semi-spoilers below so don't keep reading if you don't want to know...
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.
.
I like the Delaney character but I agree many of the other characters are much better. However, if they are going to continue this to another season they are going to have to come up with some more good characters because they seemed to have killed a number of them off.

After reading some other comments I decided to skip the spoilers. I will read this after I watch it and report back. Thank you so much for responding.

I agree... but there is still some reason I find him compelling. He's unpleasant but compelling. After reading some of the comments below, I am going to watch the last two this weekend and report back. Thanks for your feedback!

Personally, I like the show quite a bit. It's worthwhile finishing out the season, even if you don't watch the next one (assuming there is a next one). A number of things are wrapped up and there is at least a little bit more action.

This did it for me! I'm in. This is exactly what I wanted to know. If it ties up enough of the story it will be worth while. Thanks!

Just don't expect complete closure. I felt they wrapped things up enough that they COULD end the series if they really wanted to but it was also clear that they want to do another season (and in fact they are but they probably didn't know that when this episode was written) - http://variety.com/2017/tv/news/taboo-renewed-season-2-tom-hardy-fx-bbc-1202004463/

I am keeping my expectations very low. At the very least, I know it will look cool and possible answer a question or two.

LOL!!! You really are gifted at making what might otherwise be an average post, so f-ing funny! I have not seen this show, but I do love Tom Hardy (he's what turned me on to Peaky Blinders, and if you haven't seen that, do so now ;)
Now of course I'll have to check it out, if only to see if I feel the same compulsion to watch him walk!

In agree -- he is a class act.

Thanks! It looks like I need to see Peaky Blinders. I'll report back after I watch the final two this weekend. Be careful while watching him walk, I swear I was put in a trance and order 17 things from infomercials after the show ended.

Peaky Blinders is amazing, one of the best shows by far of the last decade. It's a Netflix original though, so if you don't have Netflix...borrow someone else's account and password, ;)

I've not seen this show and perhaps now I never will! LOL
I "suffered" through Hemlock Grove and frankly, watching until it got interesting was quite a feat and pretty much all of Season 1 I think I watched mystified wondering HOW they got to Season 2. LOL

The responses here have encouraged me to lower my expectations and watch the last two. It is definitely a very unique show. I never tried Hemlock... Grove.

Hope you get my reply from last nite dude.... I know you are not on here as much and I think I know why and feel the same many days.

  • Anyways, I am looking for a picture of you if you do not mind but understand if you do not want to give one. I am writing something about you to encourage you.

Sorry man I didn't see it in time. Thanks for writing the article. It gave me a nice boost. I explained the picture thing in another reply.

HG shot in my city.... see my reply here to Meredith for a bit more detail.

Cool! I will check that out.

Hemlock Grove in part was shot in my town. Look up Oshawa and Parkwood Estate -- the founder of GM lived down the road from me, LOL. I have pondered many times writing about some of this but frankly I am ashamed of my city and what it has become in the police state.

I was so proud of it and fought so hard for it and the people here for so long and been nothing but stabbed in the back and targeted for truth speak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86