The Untitled Tech Prjoect Update

in #technology7 years ago

Hello Steamians,

I hope we are all well today.

My day started on a low, with loads of stuff lingering over the mind. Shortly after midday that all changed.

The Arrival Of The Raspberry Pi Zero

It Made my day.

So I unpacked my delivery bit by bit and took pictures along the way.

Above is the Pi Zero and the 8GB SD card with rasbian on it. Here is the essentials kit that I ordered.

It has a punch of GPIO adapters that I'll be making heavy use of in prototyping, a mini to standard HDMI and USB adapter and what looks like stick on feet that I doubt I'll use.

and here is all of that together

I wasn't sure how I would power it at first.

I knew the pi takes 5V and roughly 160mA and I had plenty of sources for 5V but the ampage had me concerned but with a little research online I found a machine would only draw as many amps as it needs.

I picked a charger I knew would supply it with 5V and found one with the lowest amp output I could and got it plugged in.

SD card went in first, then the hdmi adapter. I took the HMDI cable out of my grandads sky box and plugged it in and finally the power. To my supprise the green light came on which you can't see and then the rasbian symbol on the screen.

I plugged in a usb mouse and then got the install started, sorry for the blury picture.

And then install was complete.

First time boot so I had to take a picture.

and here is the desktop.

It is incredible, I expected it to arrive next week but it didn't and that made my even happier.

What is Next?

Sadly this is only half of my order however it is all I needed to make my day. The other half is on its way and that is the 3.5" touchscreen.

I have the drivers already downloaded ready to go. I've not transfered them over yet I'll wait for the screen to arrive and get it all sorted.

Now that the pi is here I can actually start addressing one of the main part I must conquer and that is a pwoer pack for it and how I'll huck it all up. Not only that but I can start learning about the GPIO and what I can and can't use them for plus what I will and wont use them for.

It is possible to buy usb power boostrs and battery boxes which will supply the pi with all the power it needs. I'm hoping it'll work off my power bank and then that'll give me a better insite into the matter. I may be better doing exstensive amounts of research and putting together a circuit that'll work how I need it to but that is later down the line.

Thats All

I feel as though the project has now gone full steam ahead even though it isn't, I'm still calling it "The Untitled Tech Project" and could do with coming up with an awesome name. In light of that I've put the picture in a fodler on my computer and that needed a name and to make it sound awesome. In the end I would like the computer to be encased in a meter for awesomeness there fore "Iron" and because it has an ARM processor and it is to be wearable on my forearm "IronARM" if what the folder is named.

I may move this name to be not only the folder but the project name. What does everyone think of "project IronARM"? let me know in the comments.

 
I am partly supporting this project through my earning from steem

Until next time
Nath

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11