Social media blackout 21 June 2017

in #technology7 years ago

In Africa, when something does not work, most people will take action by boycotting or striking against what they feel is unfair.

I have written a post last week, where a strike by the taxis took to the highways and blocked everybody from getting to their offices. You can read the post here.


Image Credit

Today we are striking against high data costs.

You can view the news article here

This is the norm. If you are not happy with something you strike. In general I do not have a problem with all the strikes as long as the strike don't influence me directly. There is literally a strike about something every day around here.


Image Credit

Luckily today's strike is not influencing at all, as I never go onto Facebook since I joined the Steemit Platform. Sure it is on my phone, and my wife will post some pictures of the kids from my phone every so often. I get the notifications on who's Birthday's it is today.

Data costs in Africa is higher than the norm.

I have asked the question in a survey type post recently, and it is clear that the data cost in Africa is higher than the rest of the world. I am not sure why, as the infrastructure is already in place for many years. Our telco's are really taking advantage of the consumers. We do not have much competition, and allthough I cannot prove it, there might be some sort of collusion between the various Telco's as they are all around the same pricing for the various products on offer.

I just Googled, Vodacom Price collusion and I found this article, which was published in 2014

The problem with striking using Social Media, is that most people will probably go to the Social Media sites to see how successful the protest is :) I do believe that strike is for a good cause, and I therefor support it.

I am a bit confused now as I ask myself, do I actually tweet this post as I usually tweet all my posts. If I tweet this now, I am not actually helping the cause, am I?

Decisions Decisions Decisions :)

Happy Steeming !


#

Sort:  

Wow here in my community in India we should do this. We pay too much for internet! way too much. Thanks for the post. inspiring you are.

@@ -63,20 +63,16 @@
you pay
-pay
for a ce

You have opened so many topics here in this post. The Telcom's are riding on the backs of the working class and continue to make you their slave in paying for what you want.
The same is true about the banking cartels making you pay ex-sorbent fees just to use your own money. They want to keep you working and pay them for what is yours. This is why crypto currency is becoming so attractive.
You are on the right track, but at some time you have to force a change. The government "Fear" 4% of the population rising up to change anything. 4% is more than they can deal with and is the tipping point.
Great post, looking forward to more. I will follow you.
I'm new here to steemit, just getting started.

i agreed, and actually it brings up and interesting thing to solve that i think a blockchain could do, imagine a world where you could give a steem like quantity to another person that would give them so much access, imagine then also payment gateways for group donations similar to paypal but without the bs where you could collectively club together to keep someone online. now that, is how you connect and keep people connected and talking. someone invest it and then pay me a little bit of steem. thank you! :)

I didn't even know there was a strike!!!

@frieda
Tell me when is the next strike, I want to join!

Thank you for keeping us up to date jacor.

cool ..:)
social media black out 21 for sure :)

Except for Steemit... Never black out Steemit :)

I hope the prices drive down for Africans. They should not be made to pay more than the rest of the world

Dude in South Africa you pay your ass off for internet, food, petrol, electricity, water and they still want to increase their prices every once in a while to cover the big bosses bonus. All good except the salaries of the people who have to pay these increases stay the same. They are sucking us dry

Hi @jacoe, I must say I did not know of this strike until reading your post, I also did not notice any issues with my social media services!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79