THE WORLD'S FIRST SMART RIVER TURBINE....

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

As a Canadian I am constantly looking for ways to support development of clean energy from companies that are Canadian. When I see that people take notice and apply their energies into mechanisms and plans to make this planet just that much cleaner, I get excited. As a nature enthusiast, I see huge potential in this product, where as my dream is to own property with a stream or river nearby. This company has launched this product just over a year ago, and it has been on the scope of many countries for it's potential. With many countries facing government pressure to go green, and reduce their emissions, this would certainly be one product that they can look to. The concept is not new, but it is the best idea or product that I have researched over the years. Perhaps in years to come the price will come down.

Just think about how this can empower many third world countries.

http://idenergie.ca/en/river-turbine/

Something to think about Folks.

Sort:  

Very cool! but wow, $12,500 price tag is a bit of a shocker. The good thing is the tech is available, now we just need them to become affordable.

I feel that this will come way down in price once they realize that the demand is there but the $ is too high, I think they are initially targeting big industry that perform operations in the rural areas etc. Then they will either drop the price or create a home owner friendly version, even though this is for the homeowner. But compare it to installing solar panels and battery banks, it is in the same price range.

This is awesome. I have been looking at different methods to produce alternate energy for the homestead. Will this work in salt water?

Not too sure, but a very good question.

This is great! My friends Philippe and Billy designed and created the UEK hydro-kite https://books.google.com/books?id=K2CkjoYZDDUC&pg=PA335&lpg=PA335&dq=UEK+hydro-kite&source=bl&ots=94QVrS5Bjo&sig=5P7FUSROtSLkyVEDSPgGX9JNukk&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj5x87xkP_XAhVV72MKHWklAR4Q6AEIWzAJ#v=onepage&q=UEK%20hydro-kite&f=false

It was designed to work with water flow including tidal flows..but also designed to allow fish to pass through unharmed, and the outflow minimized to reduce sand displacement and help preserve eco-systems.

It was years ago now, they were a bit ahead of their time unfortunately, but I am glad to see new designs happening :)

I am going to go and browse your link. Its nice that they considered the eco system and fish in their design. Thanks for the tid bit of info @elew

Do not let spacious plans for a new world divert your energies from saving what is left of the old.

- Winston Churchill

You're quite right, the price is comparable to solar systems, so not overly surprising.

I do hope that more countries will turn more towards these cleaner forms of energy. Unfortunately, I get the impression from discussions going on here that companies and government don't think renewables are efficient enough. Many people are pushing for nuclear energy as well, which makes me vey uncomfortable. While it is certainly much cleaner and produces less radiation than a coal plant while functioning properly, once something goes wrong the results are disastrous and far reaching. We currently have Fukushima hemorrhaging radiation which has reached the American coast and yet they still try to convince us nuclear is the way to go!

Your right, I live 15 mins from Canada’s largest nuclear plant scares the heck out of me!

That would make me nervous too!

How awesome is that! I feel the price is a bit steep but I'm sure it'll probably decrease in the next coming year?

Looks pretty impressive. I had a small stream through my property I've always wanted to try so micro hydro.

you could use a bicycle tire as well and some pully belts from an old washing machine too. good luck.

That is actually is a brilliant idea. Like a paddle wheel on one of those old river boats but in reverse!

Interesting. We have a stream but I don't know if the flow rate is high enough for a turbine.

I think in the next decade we will see huge leaps in green energy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84